FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Social Distortion - Vinyl Box Set (Vinyl 4LP Box Set)
Click to Enlarge

Social Distortion - Vinyl Box Set

(Vinyl 4LP Box Set)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDS96418

Featuring Mommy's Little Monster (1983), Prison Bound (1988), Sex, Love and Rock ‘n' Roll (2004) and the 1995 Compilation Mainliner (Wreckage From The Past) 

Social Distortion's first ever vinyl box set, The Independent Years 1983-2004, collects the band's independent label releases from their rough and tumble punk rock beginnings to the roots rock sound that defined a generation. Includes Mommy's Little Monster (1983), Prison Bound (1988), Sex, Love and Rock ‘n' Roll (2004) and the 1995 compilation Mainliner (Wreckage From The Past) on unique colored vinyl, all in a collectable slipcase.

Mixing Springsteen's factory-overalls ethic with Southern California punk energy and black leather, punk godfathers Social Distortion have all but trademarked their sound over the past 30 some years, a brand of hard rockabilly/punk that's cut with the melodic, road-tested lyrics of frontman Mike Ness. Their searing guitars and a locomotive rhythm section drive Ness's hard-luck tales of love, loss and lessons learned.

In addition to the early punk of The Ramones and The Clash, the band's sound was culled equally from Ness's love of roots music, specifically early country music greats like Hank Williams and the early blues recordings of the South. The group broke in 1983 with the thrashing plate of punk and displeasure Mommy's Little Monster. Their 1988 follow-up, Prison Bound, hinted at a sonic change to come, and by 2004's Sex, Love and Rock ‘n' Roll, their sound had solidified into the instantly recognizable brand of rock n' roll that's defined them ever since.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
Mommy's Little Monster
  1. The Creeps
  2. Another State Of Mind
  3. It Wasn't A Pretty Picture
  4. Telling Them
  5. Hour Of Darkness
  6. Mommy's Little Monster
  7. Anti-Fashion
  8. All The Answers
  9. Moral Threat
Prison Bound
  1. It's The Law
  2. Indulgence
  3. Like An Outlaw (For You)
  4. Backstreet Girl
  5. Prison Bound
  6. No Pain No Gain
  7. On My Nerves
  8. I Want What I Want
  9. Lawless
  10. Lost Child
Sex, Love and Rock 'n' Roll
  1. Reach for the Sky
  2. Highway 101
  3. Don't Take Me for Granted
  4. Footprints on My Ceiling
  5. Nickels and Dimes
  6. I Wasn't Born to Follow
  7. Winners and Losers
  8. Faithless
  9. Live Before You Die
  10. Angel's Wings
Mainliner (Wreckage from the Past)
  1. 1945 (Posh Boy Version)
  2. Playpen (Posh Boy Version)
  3. Mainliner
  4. Moral Threat
  5. All the Answers
  6. Justice for All
  7. Under My Thumb
  8. 1945 (13th Floor Version)
  9. Playpen (13th Floor Version)
  10. Mass Hysteria

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.