FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Somekindawonderful - Somekindawonderful (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Somekindawonderful Somekindawonderful

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDS27990

SomeKindaWonderful SomeKindaWonderful on LP + Download

Fateful encounters at Cleveland bars rarely lead to musical mythology, but SomeKindaWonderful have a different kind of story to tell. A three-piece featuring Jordy Towers (vocals/lyrics), as well as Matt Gibson (guitar) and Ben Schigel (drums), the genre-bending group came together after Towers became a casualty of the major label system. Once signed to Interscope as a solo act, he refused to become yet another faceless persona and the label left him hanging on the vine. Towers knew it was time for a reset and headed to Ohio to re-examine his life.

“Iʼm not the type to be defeated easily,” says Towers. “You know, most people move to LA to make it, but I had to leave LA to find my path.” In January 2013, Towers took a trip to visit family in the suburban Cleveland town of Olmstead Falls (pop. 9,000). It was there that he fatefully crossed paths with Gibson and Schigel. While the local musicians were just intending to just grab some beers at a local bar, they found much more than they had anticipated when they came across Jordy.

“We were basically a band without a lead singer and he was a lead singer without a band,” says Schigel. “We headed back to our studio the night we met and, literally three hours later, our first song ʻReverseʼ was done.” To call “Reverse” the product of fate is an understatement. Endlessly catchy, the song feels both modern and classic, nodding to ʻ60s soul and contemporary R&B with the dynamic range of big-room pop-rock and cinematic emotion. Its structure, which features Towers unraveling a backwards narrative with a cadence that merges rap and soul, provides a novel lyrical framework to a unique sound.

“Itʼs an R&B soul rock record,” says Towers. “It sort of mirrors my move from LA to Cleveland. That path is reversed from what youʼd expect. Nothing is deliberate. Just like how we met, itʼs natural and all about the music. I still canʼt believe I met my musical soul mates at a bar in Ohio.” SomeKindaWonderfulʼs self-titled debut album is slated for release via Downtown Records.

SomeKindaWonderful SomeKindaWonderful Track Listing:

1.  Cornbread
2.  Police
3.  Hard for Days
4.  Honeymoon
5.  Reverse
6.  Caveman
7.  Amaretto
8.  Devilish Man
9.  Laugh Out Loud
10. In Chains
11. Shine On Me
12. Burn
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Cornbread
2. Police
3. Hard for Days
4. Honeymoon
5. Reverse
6. Caveman
7. Amaretto
8. Devilish Man
9. Laugh Out Loud
10. In Chains
11. Shine On Me
12. Burn

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.