FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Sonny Rollins - SAXOPHONE COLOSSUS (200G MONO Vinyl LP) * * *
Click to Enlarge


(200G MONO Vinyl LP) * * *

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LAP7079
Sonny Rollins Saxophone Colossus on 200g Mono LP

Mastered by Kevin Gray from the Original Mono Master Tapes & Pressed at Quality Record Pressings

Analogue Productions' Prestige Mono Series

Sonny Rollins' 1956 masterpiece Saxophone Colossus was the tenor saxophonist's career defining release, officially elevating his status to that of the jazz elite. The iconic 5-song set finds Rollins in a quartet setting with Tommy Flanagan (piano), Doug Watkins (bass) and Max Roach (drums) performing a trio of essential originals including the signature composition "St. Thomas" along with a pair of equally as impressive standards highlighted by a thrilling take on "Mack the Knife" entitled "Moritat" here. Hands down one of the finest sets of Rollin's trailblazing career as well as one the greatest albums ever issued on the Prestige label!

- Sonny Rollins (tenor saxophone)
- Tommy Flanagan (piano)
- Doug Watkins (bass)
- Max Roach (drums)

Sonny Rollins Saxophone Colossus Track Listing:

1.  Strode Rode
2.  Blue 7
3.  Moritat
4.  St. Thomas
5.  You Don't Know What Love Is

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Strode Rode
2. Blue 7
3. Moritat
4. St. Thomas
5. You Don't Know What Love Is

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.