FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Stereo MC's - Connected (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Stereo MC's Connected

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDS10070

Stereo MC's Connected on Limited Edition 180g LP

Friends from Nottinghamshire who moved to London and discovered hip hop’s liberating potential during rap’s mid-to-late-’80s ‘golden age’, Nick Hallam and Rob Birch became Britain’s first global rap stars, paving the way for the Plan Bs and Dizzee Rascals. The Stereos MC's were exceptions to every rule – the rap band rock fans could dig, the dance act it was cool for indie fans to groove to, sought-after as remixers, producers or collaborators by everyone from the Jungle Brothers to Madonna.

Their 1992 release, Connected, initially confounded the label – “I remember going into the promotions department and the guy was going, ‘Yeah, I like it, but I’m not really sure what I should do with it’,” Nick recalls – but the Stereos’ perennial problem turned out to be their greatest strength. Nobody knew what to call their mix of groove, soul, melody and inspirational raps, but that meant that no one group of listeners could claim it as exclusively their own. 

The album – and its title track, which became the first single – were embraced across the board. The single gave them their first Top 20 hit; the album spent almost a year on the UK album chart, peaking at Number 2, and won two Brit Awards in 1994. The Stereos had become one of the biggest bands in Britain.

“It was like, there’s this road here which is really congested,” explains Rob. “And there’s this other road, which we’re on, where you’ve got a total vision of what you wanna do, and no-one else is taking that road. That’s what it felt like. No-one else was going down this road – we’d got it all to ourselves, pretty much. And it was the greatest thing in the world – until we made Connected – and then people were starting to catch on to what you could do if you just didn’t follow the book of rules.”

Brand new batch for the Back To Black range. Exact reproductions of original LP artwork to retain authenticity, but now on 180 gram heavyweight vinyl. All titles will be limited edition.

Stereo MC's Connected Track Listing:

1.  Connected
2.  Ground Level
3.  Everything
4.  Sketch
5.  Fade Away
6.  All Night Long
7.  Step It Up
8.  Playing With Fire
9.  Pressure
10. Chicken Shake
11. Creation
12. The End
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Connected
2. Ground Level
3. Everything
4. Sketch
5. Fade Away
6. All Night Long
7. Step It Up
8. Playing With Fire
9. Pressure
10. Chicken Shake
11. Creation
12. The End

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.