FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Steve Vai - THE STORY OF LIGHT (180G 45RPM Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge


(180G 45RPM Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDV4005
Steve Vai The Story Of Light on 180g 45RPM 2LP

Virtuoso guitarist and visionary composer Steve Vai presents The Story of Light, a new album of original material and his 16th solo effort overall. The title comes out on Favored Nations Entertainment, the label Vai founded in 1999. Its sprawling and expressive 12-song set continues a conceptual and cosmic narrative arc begun on the artist’s acclaimed 2005 album Real Illusions: Reflections (also Vai’s most recent solo studio release).

Although The Story of Light is largely instrumental, the album does feature guest vocalists including singer-songwriter Aimee Mann - dueting with Vai on “No More Amsterdam,” which she also co-wrote - and Beverly McClellan, a season one finalist on The Voice. McClellan appears on “John the Revelator,” a track inspired by a vintage recording of blues singer Blind Willie Johnson, whose acid-soaked vocals are in the mix as well. Other highlights include the title track (which opens the album), “Gravity Storm,” “The Moon and I,” and “Velorum.”

Throughout, three-time Grammy-winner Vai’s lead guitar is as lyrically resonant as it is technically masterful, his licks and solos bending sounds and in listeners’ minds in equal measure. The Story of Light follows the journey of a man driven mad by grief, intertwining tragedy, revelation, enlightenment, and redemption.

“I’m always pursuing knowledge, I’m a seeker of spiritual equilibrium - and music is a big part of that,” says Vai. “I’ve been obsessed with these kinds of ideas for years.” Looking ahead, Vai envisions a third set of songs that will unravel the mysteries and reveal truths that swirl through both The Story of Light and Real Illusions: Reflections. The completed trilogy, intended to be cinematic - even operatic - in scope, will include lyrics and narration.

Steve Vai The Story Of Light Track Listing:

1.  The Story of Light
2.  Velorum
3.  John The Revelator
4.  Book of the Seven Seals
5.  Creamsicle Sunset
6.  Gravity Storm

1.  Mullach A’tSi
2.  The Moon and I
3.  Weeping China Doll
4.  Racing the World
5.  No More Amsterdam
6.  Sunshine Electric Raindrops
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. The Story of Light
2. Velorum
3. John The Revelator
4. Book of the Seven Seals
5. Creamsicle Sunset
6. Gravity Storm

1. Mullach A’tSi
2. The Moon and I
3. Weeping China Doll
4. Racing the World
5. No More Amsterdam
6. Sunshine Electric Raindrops

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2018. All Rights Reserved.