FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Steven Price: Gravity - Original Soundtrack Recording (Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Steven Price: Gravity Original Soundtrack Recording

(Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDG08044

Steven Price Gravity: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack on Limited Edition 180g 2LP

Steven Price's Academy Award-winning original motion picture soundtrack for the 2013 Alfonso Cuaron science fiction thriller Gravity starring Sandra Bullock and George Clooney. Remastered for vinyl by James Plotkin, this limited edition 180g 2LP pressing comes housed in a deluxe gatefold jacket and features original artwork by Kevin Tong.

To accomplish the creation of music in the vacuum of space, Price needed to bridge music with sound in untraditional ways. “From my earliest meetings with Alfonso [Cuarón, director] it was clear the score in Gravity would play a crucial and expanded role,” said Price. “With no sound in space, the music was integral to underscore the emotional journey. The music is occasionally abstract, often melodic, but always very intricate, complex and textural. Alfonso and I wanted the score to blur the line between electronic and organic sounds, and there was a lot of experimentation involved in finding the harmonic and sonic language that felt emotionally right and tonally gelled with the amazing visuals.” 

Towing that line came naturally for composer Steven Price. He is a composer and musician who previously worked as an award-winning music editor. He has written additional music for films, including Pirate Radio and Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World, collaborating with Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich. Price has also written music for several productions on major UK television networks as well as advertising campaigns in both the UK and the U.S. His accolades include awards for his original Attack The Block score. His score for The World's End was released in 2013.

For Gravity, Price continues, “Alfonso was always very determined that the soundtrack be immersive. As you sit in the theatre, the score literally moves around you. Elements come and go, pulsate and transform, and reflect the journey onscreen in a way that will hopefully add to the total cinematic experience of the film.”

Steven Price Gravity - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Track Listing:

1.  Above Earth
2.  Debris
3.  The Void
4.  Atlantic
5.  Don't Let Go
6.  Airlock
7.  ISS
8.  Fire

1.  Parachute
2.  In the Blind
3.  Aurora Borealis
4.  Aningaaq
5.  Soyuz
6.  Tiangong
7.  Shenzou
8.  Gravity

Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Above Earth
2. Debris
3. The Void
4. Atlantic
5. Don't Let Go
6. Airlock
7. ISS
8. Fire

1. Parachute
2. In the Blind
3. Aurora Borealis
4. Aningaaq
5. Soyuz
6. Tiangong
7. Shenzou
8. Gravity

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.