FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Stone Roses - Turns Into Stone (180g Colored Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Stone Roses - Turns Into Stone

(180g Colored Vinyl 2LP)

$10.00 - 33%
23Reward Points
Product Not Eligible for Further Discounts
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (103)
Item: LDS91510

The Stone Roses Turns Into Stone on Numbered Limited Edition Colored 180g 2LP 

New Deluxe Edition Remastered from the Original Tapes!

Colored Copies Are Limited / Call To Confirm Colored Copies Are Still Available

You can tell a lot about a band by the songs they leave off their albums. Manchester’s Stone Roses released just two albums - the self-titled 1989 debut and, five years later, the follow-up, Second Coming. But those albums tell only part of the story. The missing bits can be found on Turns Into Stone, originally released in 1992 and scooping up early singles and B-sides that didn’t appear on the band's iconic debut.

The album’s provenance speaks nothing of its quality: here can be found some of the greatest songs the four-piece ever recorded, from their poppets single, “Elephant Stone,” to the towering “One Love” and the anthemic “Fools Gold,” the track on which their hybrid of atmospheric indie and acid house found its most perfect balance. It’s the track that allowed the group’s rhythm section of Gary ‘Mani’ Mounfied (bass) and Alan ‘Reni’ Wren (drums) to shine and the one that gave them cred beyond the indie scene - Run DMC even sampled it on 1990’s “What’s It All About?”

Quite why The Stone Roses chose not to put these songs on an album is a mystery, but Turns Into Stone itself was controversial at the time. In a protracted battle with record label Silvertone, the band were unable to release any new material for several years due to an injunction against them, and Turns Into Stone was released without input from the band - unlike the majority of their releases, it boasts no cover art from the guitarist, painter and sculptor John Squire.

The title is taken from the closing line in “One Love” - “What goes up must come down/Turns into dust or turns into stone.” The lyric proved prescient for The Stone Roses who split acrimoniously following the divisive Second Coming and a poorly received performance at the UK’s influential Reading Festival. It took eighteen years for the group to reunite, and when they did, they played to 220,000 people in three nights at Manchester’s Heaton Park.

For a time, relations between the band did indeed turn to dust. However, The Stone Roses' legacy, which lives on through their three groundbreaking albums, is indeed rock solid!

• Deluxe colored 180 2LP-set
• Remastered from the original tapes
• Deluxe edition first pressing includes hand numbered jacket with album title in silver foil

The Stone Roses Turns Into Stone Track Listing:   

1.  Elephant Stone 
2.  The Hardest Thing In The World
3.  Going Down
4.  Mersey Paradise
5.  Standing Here
6.  Where Angels Play
7.  Simone
8.  Fools Gold 
9.  What the World Is Waiting For 
10. One Love
11. Something's Burning

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Elephant Stone
2. The Hardest Thing In The World
3. Going Down
4. Mersey Paradise
5. Standing Here
6. Where Angels Play
7. Simone
8. Fools Gold
9. What the World Is Waiting For
10. One Love
11. Something's Burning

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.