FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Such Gold - The New Sidewalk (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Such Gold - The New Sidewalk

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDS63815

Such Gold The New Sidewalk on LP + Download

The New Sidewalk is the follow up to Rochester, NY based melodic hardcore punk band Such Gold's 2012 debut, Misadventures, which debuted at #6 on the Billboard Heatseekers Chart. Their new album was produced by Bill Stevenson (Descendents, A Wilhelm Scream, Propagandhi) at the Blasting Room in Ft. Collins, Colorado. 

The New Sidewalk is a huge leap forward for Such Gold creatively, with the band pushing themselves further and further away from the pop-punk scene they came up in and instead focusing on being an innovative, forward-thinking hardcore punk band even if it brings some tension to the listener. The album twists and turns, divebombing from riff to riff as time signatures switch up almost on a whim. Keys and textures change with an unrelenting dynamic intensity.

Such Gold lead vocalist/guitarist Ben Kotin admits, “We were really nervous going in; we didn’t know what to expect in the studio. On The New Sidewalk, we had a lot more time to really do what we want. The atmosphere was a little more relaxed. We got the chance to just hang out with Bill and company every day, shoot the shit about music, listen to his jokes and stories. It was a really comfortable setting.”

Out of that comfort came an album full of discomfort, from the driving dirge of “I Know What I Saw” to the five-minute-long psyche and purpose-examining title track to the jazzy skate-punk of “Morrison” (a true tale of being harassed by a small-town cop) to the black humor of “Food Court Blues,” in which Kotin amusingly distorts a Killers lyric (“Are we human or are we mall?”). Kotin isn’t afraid to tell it like it is nor is he ashamed of his station in life. The struggle is real and relatable, and his lyrics reflect that; his band’s music is the canvas on which he paints, and those canvases keep taking an increasingly interesting shape.

Such Gold formed in 2009 and have worked tirelessly since, having released 2012’s full length Misadventures, as well as 4 split 7”s and two EPs, Stand Tall and Pedestals. The band has toured around the globe with Comeback Kid, Strung Out, A Wilhelm Scream, The Story So Far, Stick To Your Guns, The Wonder Years, and many more. Such Gold is Ben Kotin (guitar/vocals), Nate Derby (guitar), Jon Markson (bass/vocals) and Matt Covey (drums).

Such Gold The New Sidewalk Track Listing:

1.  Engulfed In Flames
2.  Faced
3.  Axed Away
4.  Food Court Blues
5.  No Cab Fare
6.  I Know What I Saw
7.  Nauseating 
8.  Don't Park Next To Me 
9.  Morrison 
10. When It Gives
11. Frying In The Mix 
12. The New Sidewalk
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Engulfed In Flames
2. Faced
3. Axed Away
4. Food Court Blues
5. No Cab Fare
6. I Know What I Saw
7. Nauseating
8. Don't Park Next To Me
9. Morrison
10. When It Gives
11. Frying In The Mix
12. The New Sidewalk

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2018. All Rights Reserved.