FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Surfer Blood - 1000 Palms (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Surfer Blood - 1000 Palms

(Vinyl LP)

$9.99 - 50%
23Reward Points
Product Not Eligible for Further Discounts
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (3)
Item: LDS86253

Surfer Blood 1000 Palms on Limited Edition Colored LP + Download

First Pressing on Colored Vinyl

Colored Copies Are Limited / Call To Confirm Colored Copies Are Still Available

1000 Palms marks a return to Surfer Blood's DIY ethos. Abandoning the big time studio, the band decided to head back home to self-record and self-produce their third full-length album. Free of major-label-influence, Surfer Blood has delivered a uniquely compelling album, unlike anything in their catalog.

The story of 1000 Palms began on January 1st 2014, after playing a New Year’s show in Portland, OR. The band decided to stick around for the rest of the month, renting a practice space and sorting through a backlog of ideas. By February, as their lease ran out, Surfer Blood had recorded demos for most of the tracks that are now featured on the follow-up to 2010's Astro Coast and 2013's Pythons.

After a frustrating time at their previous home, Warner Bros., the quartet was beyond ready to return to a more DIY recording process, completely void of the middlemen scrutinizing every bar of their previous LP. With the band self-recording, it was in the glamorous setting of an attic studio above a doctor’s office where drums were committed to tape. Of the work, frontman John Paul Pitts states “fortunately none of us are strangers to DIY recording, so this seemed like the kind of challenge well-suited to our band.”

The making of 1000 Palms also owes a lot to the kindness of friends and family, with the remaining instrument sessions taking place at the home of drummer Tyler Schwartz’s parents, while they were on vacation. Following a few days of very little sleep and after the band pooled resources and called in favors, they managed to craft everything you now hear on 1000 Palms.

Surfer Blood 1000 Palms Track Listing:    

1.  I Can't Explain
2.  Death And The Maiden
3.  Grand Inquisitor
4.  Island
5.  I Can't Explain
6.  Feast - Famine
7.  Point of No Return
8.  Saber-Tooth & Bone
9.  Covered Wagons
10. Dorian
11. Into Catacombs
12. Other Desert Cities
13. NW Passage    

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. I Can't Explain
2. Death And The Maiden
3. Grand Inquisitor
4. Island
5. I Can't Explain
6. Feast - Famine
7. Point of No Return
8. Saber-Tooth & Bone
9. Covered Wagons
10. Dorian
11. Into Catacombs
12. Other Desert Cities
13. NW Passage

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.