FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Survival Knife - Loose Power (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Survival Knife - Loose Power

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDS44115

Survival Knife Loose Power on LP + Download

When Unwound broke up in 2002, the pioneering post-rock band left a hole in the musical firmament that dozens of acts have been trying and failing to patch up in the years since. Try as they might, they could never quite reach the perfect balance of tension and release, spiny and smooth that made the Olympia-based trio’s work so damn powerful. That is until Survival Knife came to life. Bringing together two ex-Unwound bandmates Justin Trosper and Brandt Sandeno, Survival Knife is another bracing and energetic shot to the dome by these singular songwriters, and one that they are eager to embrace.

Getting to this point, however, took some doing. Unlike all of his former musical brethren, singer/guitarist Trosper didn’t have any interest in music after Unwound split. Instead, he moved to Los Angeles for a stretch, going to school and helping other bands with recording projects. But after returning to his hometown of Olympia, the itch to take up his guitar against the world returned, and, with the help of longtime musical companion Sandeno and his friends Kris Cunningham (drums) and Meg Cunningham (bass), Survival Knife was born.

The first major statement to arrive from Survival Knife is Loose Power, the band’s debut full length, released on Glacial Pace Recordings. Recorded with Stuart Hallerman (Soundgarden, Earth) and Matt Buscher, the album ably weds the riffage of classic rock outfits like Blue Oyster Cult and Led Zeppelin with the feverish angular pulse of contemporaries such as Fugazi and Blonde Redhead. 

Lyrically, Trosper circles back on the existential and global concerns that marked much of Unwound's best material. This time around, though, his words feel more cutting and direct. He tears to shreds the devilish financial industry ("Heaven Has No Eyes") and global paranoia ("Loose Power"), while also leaving you with the devastating image of a lone man running away from his own despair ("Fell Runner").

Survival Knife Loose Power Track Listing:

1.  Divine Mob
2.  Fell Runner 
3.  Gold Widow
4.  Cut The Quick
5.  Roman Fever
6.  Loose Power
7.  Heaven Has No Eyes
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Divine Mob
2. Fell Runner
3. Gold Widow
4. Cut The Quick
5. Roman Fever
6. Loose Power
7. Heaven Has No Eyes

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.