FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Sweet Apple - The Golden Age Of Glitter (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Sweet Apple - The Golden Age Of Glitter

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDS16016

Sweet Apple The Golden Age Of Glitter on LP + Download Card

Featuring J Mascis, Tim Parnin, John Petkovic and Dave Sweetapple & Guest Appearances by Mark Lanegan and Robert Pollard

Sweet Apple is back with The Golden Age of Glitter, a 10-song power-pop masterpiece featuring J Mascis (Dinosaur Jr., Heavy Blanket), Tim Parnin (Cobra Verde, Chuck Mosley), John Petkovic (Cobra Verde, Death of Samantha, Guided By Voices) and Dave Sweetapple (Witch, Vardlokk. The LP is the follow up to the band's critically celebrated debut Love & Desperation, a record that featured "70s arena rock-like songs" (Pitchfork) and presented "one stomp box in the power pop of their youth, one in the heavy indie thud they invented" (SPIN).

The Golden Age Of Glitter was recorded from California to Massachusetts, with Cleveland in the middle and, according to vocalist John Petkovic, "is an album about connecting and missing flights, arrivals and departures." Featuring 10 songs of Sweet Apple's irresistibly infectious rock, The Golden Age of Glitter travels a wide swathe of musical styles - almost as wide as the geography represented by the band - and revolves around a running narrative where the band becomes the theme (the group's members are spread out across the country). 

Lyrically, the songs focus on "travel and distance," longing for a new, different place and then tackling the reality of getting there. Yes, Sweet Apple cashed in their frequent flyer miles for a trip full of sunny, dark, moody and heavy sounds - the kind we've heard these guys do in other bands, but never before like this! The Golden Age of Glitter features special guest contributions from Mark Lanegan (Screaming Trees, Queens Of The Stone Age) and Robert Pollard (Guided By Voices) among others. 

"Mark and Bob are longtime friends and we're all fans of their music and approach to making music," says Petkovic, who played with Pollard in Guided by Voices. "By all normal measuring sticks, this record shouldn't even exist. We're a band spread out all over the county; we all play in a bunch of different bands; and we started by accident. And yet that's kind of what I find interesting about Sweet Apple. 

He adds, "I came up with the first song for the record - "Wish You Could Stay (A Little Longer)" - while we were on tour. We all flew in from different places and airports to meet in Seattle, the first stop on a West Coast tour. We came in a night early, for our one and only practice. On one hand, you'd think it's insane doing a band like this. On the other, there's a newness to it; it's like we're starting over and doing something new every time. Sweet Apple is a band of connecting flights and airports and that is also in an ongoing theme. I've never been in a band before where the band became the theme - where there was such a wide gulf between the destination and getting there."

Interestingly, The Golden Age of Glitter will spawn six music videos of varying storylines. The first - for "Wish You Could Stay (A Little Longer)" - features the band dispersed around the country and connected by paper airplanes. The six videos will include - in some form or fashion - the band, Mark Lanegen, legendary bassist and songwriter Mike Watt, paper airplanes, the Rose Bowl, NYC, Halloween trick-or-treaters and more.

Sweet Apple The Golden Age Of Glitter Track Listing:

1.  Wish You Could Stay (A Little Longer) 
2.  Reunion 
3.  Boys In Her Fanclub 
4.  Let’s Take The Same Plane 
5.  Another Desert Skyline 
6.  I Surrender 
7.  Troubled Sleep 
8.  We Are Ruins 
9.  You Made A Fool Out Of Me 
10. Under The Liquor Sign
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Wish You Could Stay (A Little Longer)
2. Reunion
3. Boys In Her Fanclub
4. Let’s Take The Same Plane
5. Another Desert Skyline
6. I Surrender
7. Troubled Sleep
8. We Are Ruins
9. You Made A Fool Out Of Me
10. Under The Liquor Sign

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.