FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Teen Men - Teen Men (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Teen Men Teen Men

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDT23514

Teen Men Teen Men on LP

Teen Men is the self-titled debut album from this Delaware-based four piece audio/visual group. The album was recorded at The Garden Center and Paper Lab Recording studios in Delaware and engineered, mixed and produced by band member Nick Krill. It’s being released on the Bar/None label, home to a long line of adventurous but melodically-obsessed artists.

Teen Men comprises two musicians Nick Krill and Joe Hobson (members of The Spinto Band) and two visual artists Albert Birney (creator of the Simply Sylvio series on Vine) and artist Catharine Maloney (who has exhibited internationally and has a Master of Fine Arts from Yale University). The resultant music is an ambitious blending of tunefully trippy melodies delivered via guitars, synthesizers, and vocals, with impertinent samples and haunting, atmospheric ambient electronics. These performances are audio/visual experiments; innovative, individualistic and concise, reflecting a love of the pop thrill and a dedication to classic songcraft.  

At the core of the Teen Men’s artistic identity is their unique style of creative interplay, the contrast between how the musicians responded to artistic inspirations and challenges as opposed to the visual artists and the ingenious ways they’d combine them. The results were often beyond what any of them would have imagined left to their own devices. Fundamental was their desire to translate visual elements into music, though the opposite process was constantly occurring as well.  

Nick explains: “When the visual artists would comment on the work, they’d do it with visual vocabulary. When we’d translate that to music, there wound up being distortions of the original thought. We’d find common ground but the musicians had to work in ways we might not have if communicating only with other musicians.”

Together Teen Men is working to create a sonic and visual experience. Nick says “All the members bring a bit of naivete about the others’ art form, leading to ideas that would not be suggested by more seasoned and knowledgeable artists in each field.” Catharine sums up how their collaboration functions on a fundamental level: “All four of us are storytellers, we just approach it in different ways. Combined it makes the experience for an audience member or listener more whole and hits more of their senses.”

Teen Men Teen Men Track Listing:

1.  Hiding Records (So Dangerous)
2.  Adventure Kids
3.  The Sea, The Sea
4.  It’s All Rushing Back
5.  Rene
6.  Township (Not Sure)
7.  Fall Out A Tree
8.  New Kind
9.  Los Angeles
10. Kids Being Kids
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.