FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > The Beatles - Please Please Me (180g Mono Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

The Beatles Please Please Me

(180g Mono Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (18)
Item: LDB09529

The Beatles Please Please Me on 180g Mono LP

Audiophiles Get Their Wish: Please Please Me Cut from the Original 1/4-Inch Analog Master Tapes and Pressed at Optimal on a Dead-Quiet LP

NO DIGITAL USED IN MASTERING CHAIN: Working at Abbey Road, Engineers Magee and Berkowitz Used Same Techniques Employed in 1960s for All-Analog Project

This Extraordinary Mono Pressing is the Definitive Analog Version of This Watershed Album

Beatles remastering engineers saved the best for last. Cut from the original 1/4-inch analog master tapes and pressed at Optimal in Germany on a dead-quiet 180g LP, the Beatles' Please Please Me is made by and for audiophiles. More collectable than its stereo and digital processors, and featuring utterly transparent-to-the-source sound, it is completely different than its stereo analog counterpart by way of the all-analog cutting process and audiophile-focused manufacturing. Purists rejoice: NO DIGITAL is involved in any part of the chain. This pressing presents the band as it was meant to be heard, in spectacular mono sound.

Mastered from quarter-inch master tapes at Abbey Road Studios by Grammy-winning engineer Sean Magee and Grammy-winning mastering supervisor Steve Berkowitz, Please Please Me exemplifies sonic transparency and analog purity.  While the recent stereo LP and CDs were created from digital remasters, Magee and Berkowitz cut the records for the Please Please Me mono LP employing the same procedures used in the 1960s, guided by the original albums and detailed transfer notes made by the original cutting engineers. 
Working in the same room at Abbey Road where most of the Beatles’ albums were initially cut, the pair first dedicated weeks to concentrated listening, fastidiously comparing the master tapes with first pressings of the mono records made in the 1960s. Using a rigorously tested Studer A80 machine to play back the precious tapes, the new vinyl was cut on a 1980s-era VMS80 lathe.

A document designed to capture the Beatles’ live energy of the time, and recorded in one 10-hour session, Please Please Me is built upon a combination of direct and ambient sounds gathered from group microphones. For the first time, you can detect the “leakage” encouraged to flow between microphones as well as the results of the close-miking techniques intended to tighten up the sound and yet, leave it loose—hence, the explosive vocals, partially a consequence of few microphone screens or baffles.

“I Saw Her Standing There,” “Twist and Shout,” and “Love Me Do” have never been so dynamic. And the band’s influences—girl group pop, rockabilly, blues, and hard-driving R&B—come through in the form of songs that seem simple but contain myriad complexities. You can distinguish the Gretsch Country Gentlemen 6122 from the Rickenbacker 425 guitars. Lennon’s lose-control vocal blowout on “Twist and Shout” hits a new level of wow.

Yes, this is where it all begins. The album that ushered in rock n’ roll again and made it stay, the start of the British Invasion, the origination of Beatlemania and the culture-altering revolution that followed. Savor it all on the most definitive analog pressing available.

The Beatles Please Please Me Track Listing:

1. Taste Of Honey

2. I Saw Her Standing There

3. Misery

4. Anna (Go To Him)
5. Chains

6. Boys
7. Ask Me Why
8. Please Please Me

9. Love Me Do

10. P. S. I Love You

11. Baby It's You
12. Do You Want To Know A Secret
13. There's A Place

14. Twist And Shout
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Taste Of Honey?
2. I Saw Her Standing There?
3. Misery?
4. Anna (Go To Him)
5. Chains?
6. Boys
7. Ask Me Why
8. Please Please Me?
9. Love Me Do?
10. P. S. I Love You?
11. Baby It's You
12. Do You Want To Know A Secret
13. There's A Place?
14. Twist And Shout

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.