FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > The Birthday Party - Prayers On Fire (Numbered Colored Vinyl LP) * * *
Click to Enlarge

The Birthday Party - Prayers On Fire

(Numbered Colored Vinyl LP) * * *

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (2)
Item: LDB01475

The Birthday Party Prayers On Fire on Numbered Limited Edition Colored LP

Australia’s seminal post-punk group The Birthday Party changed rock music forever. Their records were by turns surly and explosive, full of chaotic entropy and brilliant dark lyrics composed of teeth and the smell of brimstone. The minimal, incessant melodies laced with anarchic noise created an incomparable musical experience that heralded the careers of Nick Cave, Rowland S. Howard, Mick Harvey and Tracy Pew.

Their three tour de force studio efforts The Birthday Party (1981), Prayers on Fire (1981) and Junkyard (1982) were some of the most influential records to come out of the post-punk renaissance of the early 1980s. Unlike a lot of music careers that are often described or qualified by their influences (a cross between this and that), The Birthday Party seemed to appear out of nowhere to ensure we all remembered the devil is indeed lurking around every corner.

After signing with 4AD in 1980, The Birthday Party entered Armstrong's Audio Visual Studios in Melbourne, Australia with engineer Tony Cohen to cut their first international full-length, Prayers On Fire, an aggressive onslaught of controlled chaos and terror, issued in March 1981. Cave’s dark lyrics are barked and howled over demonic melodies, evoking sounds of jazz, pure destruction, and a bone-chilling sideshow carnival. The group then embarked on their first UK tour, supporting labelmates Bauhaus. 

• Mastered for vinyl by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
• Faithful, updated rendering of original jacket and inner sleeve
• Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
• Limited edition colored 150-gram vinyl of 1,500 copies
• Also available on limited edition 200-gram vinyl of 1,500 copies

The Birthday Party Prayers On Fire Track Listing:

1.  Zoo-Music Girl
2.  Cry
3.  Capers
4.  Nick the Stripper
5.  Ho-Ho
6.  Figure of Fun
7.  King Ink
8.  A Dead Song
9.  Yard
10. Dull Day
11. Just You and Me
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.