FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > The Box Tops - Soul Deep: The Best Of The Box Tops (180g Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

The Box Tops - Soul Deep: The Best Of The Box Tops

(180g Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDB37594

The Box Tops Soul Deep: The Best Of The Box Tops on Limited Edition 180g LP

The Box Tops were a ground breaking 1960s blue-eyed soul group from Memphis, TN fronted by Alex Chilton (later of Big Star) who first charted in 1967 with the classic "The Letter," which like most of their material of the era, was recorded at Chips Moman's "American" recording studio and was produced by Dan Penn. In fact they were the first Memphis artists to record in their hometown and have a No. 1 record!

From 1967-69, the group released four albums and ten singles. "The Letter" remained at the top of Billboard's chart for four weeks in 1967; their third single, "Cry Like A Baby," hit the No. 2 position for two weeks in 1968. Both records went gold with "The Letter" selling over four million copies and "Cry Like A Baby" over two million.

Though British Invasion groups like the Beatles, the Kinks, and Them had an influence on their musical style, the principal influence came directly from the Memphis blues and R&B artists and to a lesser extent from the blues and rockabilly sounds that came out of Sam Phillips' Sun records. Also, many in the group recognize Memphis DJ Dewy Phillips as a significant influence on the Box Tops' eclectic taste.

Soul Deep is an essential 18-track compilation of The Box Tops' finest tracks anchored by the aforementioned "The Letter" and "Cry Like A Baby," and rounded out by further hits like "Soul Deep," "Neon Rainbow," "I Met Her in Church" and "Sweet Cream Ladies, Forward March."

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

1. The Letter
2. Neon Rainbow
3. Happy Times
4. Cry Like A Baby
5. Fields Of Clover
6. Choo Choo Train
7. She Shot A Hole In My Soul
8. People Gonna Talk
9. I Met Her In Church
10. Sweeet Cream Ladies, Forward March
11. Together
12. I Must Be The Devil
13. Soul Deep
14. I Shall Be Released
15. (The) Happy Song
16. Turn On A Dream
17. I See Only Sunshine
18. You Keep Tightening Up On Me

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.