FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > The Cars - The Elektra Years 1978-1987 (180g Colored Vinyl 6LP Box Set)
Click to Enlarge

The Cars - The Elektra Years 1978-1987

(180g Colored Vinyl 6LP Box Set)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDC47316

The Cars The Elektra Years 1978-1987 on Colored 180g 6LP Box Set

New Box Set featuring 6 Studio Albums with New Digital Remastering Overseen by Ric Ocasek

In 1978, the Cars had a Top 40 hit with the band's very first single, "Just What I Needed." That streak continued over the next 10 years, as the band revisited the Top 40 a dozen more times with such timeless radio hits as "Let's Go" and "Shake It Up" along with iconic videos like "Magic" and "You Might Think," which won MTV's first-ever "Video Of The Year" award in 1984. 

The five original members of The Cars - Ric Ocasek, the late Benjamin Orr, Greg Hawkes, Elliot Easton and David Robinson - recorded six studio albums together from 1978 to 1987 - all of them with Elektra Records - and have sold more than 23 million albums in the U.S. alone. The group issued their seventh full-length album and first in over 20 years, Move Like This, in 2011. 

The Elektra Years 1978-1987 box set collects all six of the band's Elektra studio albums, each one presented in a replica sleeve with original artwork. Ric Ocasek oversaw digital remastering for the set, while drummer David Robinson - who helped create The Cars' iconic album covers through the years - served as art director. The limited edition vinyl version of the boxed set presents each album on 180-gram LP pressed on different colored vinyl.

The extensive set retraces the band's musical journey in the studio and includes: The Cars (1978), Candy-O (1979), Panorama (1980), Shake It Up (1981), Heartbeat City, (1984) and Door To Door (1987). Among the 60 tracks are the band's biggest hits - "My Best Friend's Girl," "Good Times Roll," "You Are The Girl," and "Drive."

• 6LP-set
• Includes The Cars (1978), Candy-O (1979), Panorama (1980), Shake It Up (1981), Heartbeat City, (1984) & Door To Door (1987)
• 180g vinyl
• Each disc pressed on different color vinyl
• Remastering overseen by Ric Ocasek

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

The Cars (1978)
1. Good Times Roll
2. My Best Friend's Girl
3. Just What I Needed
4. I'm In Touch With Your World
5. Don't Cha Stop
6. You're All I've Got Tonight
7. Bye Bye Love
8. Moving In Stereo
9. All Mixed Up

Shake It Up (1981)
1. Since You're Gone
2. Shake It Up
3. I'm Not The One
4. Victim Of Love
5. Cruiser
6. A Dream Away
7. This Could Be Love
8. Think It Over
9. Maybe Baby

Candy-O (1979)
1. Let's Go
2. Since I Held You
3. It's All I Can Do
4. Double Life
5. Shoo Be Doo
6. Candy-O
7. Night Spots
8. You Can't Hold On Too Long
9. Lust For Kicks
10. Got A Lot On My Head
11. Dangerous Type

Heartbeat City (1984)
1. Hello Again
2. Looking For Love
3. Magic
4. Drive
5. Stranger Eyes
6. You Might Think
7. It's Not The Night
8. Why Can't I Have You
9. I Refuse
10. Heartbeat City

Panorama (1980)
1. Panorama
2. Touch And Go
3. Gimme Some Slack
4. Don't Tell Me No
5. Getting Through
6. Misfit Kid
7. Down Boys
8. You Wear Those Eyes
9. Running To You
10. Up And Down

Door To Door (1987)
1. Leave Or Stay
2. You Are The Girl
3. Double Trouble
4. Fine Line
5. Everything You Say
6. Ta Ta Wayo Wayo
7. Strap Me In
8. Coming Up You
9. Wound Up On You
10. Go Away
11. Door To Door

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.