FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Click to Enlarge



23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDG7312

Groovie Ghoulies Flying Saucer Rock N Roll!: The First Three 7"s on Limited Edition Colored LP + Download

Featuring the First 10 Official Songs the Band Ever Released Plus 3 Rare Bonus Tracks

First Pressing on Colored Vinyl

Positively praised by Maximum Rock 'n' Roll's Tim Yohannan upon their original release, the first three 7”s from California's garage/punk legends the Groovie Ghoulies have been compiled for the first time ever on Flying Saucer Rock N Roll! Released to coincide with the group's 30th anniversary, this collection presents the first ten official songs the band ever released on vinyl for the first time in over 25 years.

In addition, the Green Door Recording Company vaults have turned up three primitive and rare studio bonus tracks, newly discovered and available for the first time ever. They were originally dubbed and sold by the band in cassette format in the late 80's. Flying Saucer Rock N Roll captures all the early rawness and energy of the young and eager Kepi as he and his friend Eric just lay down tracks with a drum machine on a Tascam 4 track cassette recorder. No laws, no rules, just rock 'n' roll. 

You can hear the presence of many of the bands that remained life-long influences on the band, from the obvious (Rolling Stones, Ramones) to the more sublime (Billy Bragg, Neil Diamond). These recordings are rare and historic, and mark the first of twelve planned releases which will result in a full catalog re-issue from this entertaining and enduring band. These releases will trace the evolution of Groovie Ghoulies, and this album is the first chapter in the story. 

A young Kepi Ghoulie, who didn't even have a full band line-up, felt so driven by the D.I.Y. punk and new wave movement, and the need to create his own brand of hi-energy rock 'n' roll, that he recruited his friend to record his crazy vision like a rock 'n' roll Ed Wood. And so away they went. That dream has not stopped to this day. 30 years and close to 20 full length records later, Kepi is still at it, writing, recording, and touring at a relentless and passionate pace. Thousands upon thousands of Groovie Ghoulies records have been sold over the years. 

Their songs have been placed in B-movies and snow and skateboard videos. The most random and unusual places: that is where you will find Kepi and his 'Ghoulie Family'. Let's relive the magic that provided part of the soundtrack to the lives of so many Southern Californians. It was a scene which grew into part of the East Bay Pop Punk sound, to Asian Man records and now on into the Burger Records generation. Hail Hail Flying Saucer Rock n Roll! Long may it rock, out into the Universe, second verse same as the first! 

Groovie Ghoulies Flying Saucer Rock N Roll! - The First Three 7"s Track Listing:

1.  Flying Saucer Rock n Roll 
2.  Blood Beach 
3.  Day In Day Out 
4.  Lookout (Here Comes Tomorrow) 
5.  Armageddon 2000 
6.  We Go So Good Together 
7.  2000 Man 
8.  Don't Go Out Into The Rain (You're Gonna Melt) 
9.  Dead End 
10. Child Of The Moon 
11. Kentucky Woman 
12. Laugh At Me 
13. A New England
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Flying Saucer Rock n Roll
2. Blood Beach
3. Day In Day Out
4. Lookout (Here Comes Tomorrow)
5. Armageddon 2000
6. We Go So Good Together
7. 2000 Man
8. Don't Go Out Into The Rain (You're Gonna Melt)
9. Dead End
10. Child Of The Moon
11. Kentucky Woman
12. Laugh At Me
13. A New England

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.