FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > The Jayhawks - Paging Mr. Proust (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

The Jayhawks - Paging Mr. Proust

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDJ93713

The Jayhawks Paging Mr. Proust on LP

First Album Since 2011's Mockingbird Time Marks a Return to the Lineup That Recorded Sound of Lies (1997) and Smile (2000)!

Influential band The Jayhawks return with the release of their long-awaited new album Paging Mr. Proust (Thirty Tigers). The 12-song set finds that the 2016 version of The Jayhawks still remain one of America's foremost rock bands: based around leader Gary Louris' gift for melody that has made them such a respected and seminal group for almost three decades.

Paging Mr. Proust features the long-time core of the Jayhawks: Louris (lead vocals/guitars), Marc Perlman (bass), Tim O'Reagan (drums/vocals), and Karen Grotberg (keyboards/vocals). The album was co-produced by Louris, REM's Peter Buck and Tucker Martine (The Decemberists, Modest Mouse, My Morning Jacket) and recorded at Martine's Flora Recording & Playback in Portland, OR. 

From the jangle of album opener "Quiet Corners & Empty Spaces" to the trademark harmonies of "Isabel's Daughter" to the more pensive "Lover Of The Sun," it is clear that The Jayhawks' power remains undiminished from their initial national impact, 1992's Hollywood Town Hall. Other tracks such as the sludgy rocker "Lost The Summer," the kraut-rock groove of "Ace" and the taut minimalism of "Comeback Kids" bring new sounds to the palette. "Leaving The Monsters Behind" features a trademark vocal turn special guest Mike Mills

"We worked harder in pre-production than any previous Jayhawks record," says Louris, having demoed most of the songs in his home studio before extensive workshopping with the band, and eventually recording in the hospitable confines of Martine's studio. Paging Mr. Proust shows a commitment to adventure and forward motion, which makes this collection of songs exciting and instantly memorable.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

1. Quiet Corners & Empty Spaces
2. Lost The Summer
3. Lovers Of The Sun
4. Pretty Roses In Your Hair
5. Leaving The Monsters Behind
6. Isabel's Daughter
7. Ace
8. The Devil Is In Her Eyes
9. Comeback Kids
10. The Dust Of Long-Dead Stars
11. Lies In Black & White
12. I'll Be Your Key

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.