FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
There are more items in your cart than displayed above. Click 'View Cart' to see the complete cart.
Music > Vinyl > The Jazz Crusaders - Freedom Sound/Lookin' Ahead w/ Bonus Tracks (180g Import Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

The Jazz Crusaders - Freedom Sound/Lookin' Ahead w/ Bonus Tracks

(180g Import Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LIJ00036

The Jazz Crusaders Freedom Sound/Lookin' Ahead on 180g Import 2LP

Two Original Albums Plus 4 Bonus Tracks from At The Lighthouse

In the summer of 1958 the Jazz Crusaders, featuring Joe Sample (keyboards), Wilton Felder (saxophone), and Wayne Henderson (trombone), left their hometown of Houston, TX for the dream of a recording contract in Los Angeles, CA. In May of 1961 they recorded their first album for Pacific Jazz Records, Freedom Sound, which went on to sell over 50,000 copies - a milestone for any recording in 1961-62, let alone a jazz recording. 

The success of the album helped launch the Jazz Crusaders as one of the most distinct jazz groups of the era. The group continued with a long string of equally successful recordings throughout the decade including 1962 follow-up Lookin' Ahead. At a time when most of the jazz community was caught up in the "free jazz" movement of the ‘60's, they combined the sonic elements of R&B, gospel, "juke joint," and jazz, to create their own unique style of songwriting and playing. While firmly rooted in jazz they still knew how to write a melody, and make people dance.

Vinyl Passion presents the group's first two original albums together in one 180-gram 2LP package complete with 4 bonus tacks from At The Lighthouse.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

1. The Geek
2. M.J.s. Funk
3. That's It
4. Freedom Sound
5. Theme From Exodus
6. Coon
7. Congolese Sermon (bonus track)
8. Cathy's Dilemma (bonus track)

1. Song Of India
2. Big Hunk Of Funk
3. Tonight
4. Neyland
5. Till All Ends
6. Tortoise And The Hare
7. In A Dream
8. Sinnin Sam
9. The Young Rabbits
10. Blues For Ramona (bonus track)
11. Appointment In Ghana (bonus track)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio
MD 2020 Catalog


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More