FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > The Jesus And Mary Chain - Munki (Limited Edition 180g Import Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

The Jesus And Mary Chain Munki

(Limited Edition 180g Import Vinyl 2LP)

$10.00 - 22%
23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (2)
Item: LIJ0497

The Jesus And Mary Chain Munki on Limited Edition Import 180g 2LP

Exploring territory mined by their heroes The Velvet Underground and The Stooges, Glasgow, Scotland-based alt-rockers The Jesus And Mary Chain were the link between melody and feedback in the ’80s and ’90s. The band’s half-dozen albums, nearly two dozen singles, and riot-inducing live shows were in turn an inspiration to the next generation of sonic subversives, from My Bloody Valentine to The Chemical Brothers and Black Rebel Motorcycle Club.

Debut album Psychocandy (1985) defined The Jesus and Mary Chain as nihilist rebels, while its follow-up Darklands (1987) revealed their softer (albeit still gloomy) side. By the time the band recorded their third album Automatic (1989), the group was essentially a duo, made up of brothers Jim and William Reid and a drum machine. 

Fourth effort Honey's Dead (1992) was titled in reference to one of Jesus And Mary Chain's early hits, "Just Like Honey," and marks a complete departure from the group's earlier musical style. The distancing from their original sound continued in 1994 with the acoustic album Stoned & Dethroned, which displayed a much more calmer, almost folk/country-tinged sound. 

In true Mary Chain style, it took another four years to put out another album. The band's last to date, Munki (1998), was released in the U.S. by Seattle’s Sub Pop (original home of Nirvana, who were huge fans of the band). Due to growing tensions between the Reid brothers, both Jim and William recorded separately, exemplified by their polar opposite songs that open and close the album. Featuring the singles "I Hate Rock 'n' Roll," "Cracking Up" and "I Love Rock 'n' Roll" plus a guest appearance by Mazzy Star's Hope Sandoval on "Perfume."

“Munki is a JAMC extravaganza, a 17-track celebration of their world – perpetual adolescent posturing, low-level disdain, all-purpose euphoria, their love (the opening “I love Rock ’N Roll”) hate (the cunningly titled “I Hate Rock ’N Roll”) relationship with the big bad world of rawk...it emerges as classic Mary Chain." – Gavin Martin, NME

The Jesus And Mary Chain Munki Track Listing:

1.  I Love Rock 'N' Roll
2.  Birthday
3.  Stardust Remedy
4.  Fizzy
5.  Moe Tucker
6.  Perfume
7.  Virtually Unreal
8.  Degenerate

1.  Cracking Up
2.  Commercial
3.  Super Tramp
4.  Never Understood
5.  I Can't Find The Time For Times
6.  Man On The Moon
7.  Black
8.  Dream Lover
9.  I Hate Rock 'N' Roll
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. I Love Rock 'N' Roll
2. Birthday
3. Stardust Remedy
4. Fizzy
5. Moe Tucker
6. Perfume
7. Virtually Unreal
8. Degenerate

1. Cracking Up
2. Commercial
3. Super Tramp
4. Never Understood
5. I Can't Find The Time For Times
6. Man On The Moon
7. Black
8. Dream Lover
9. I Hate Rock 'N' Roll

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.