FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > The Jesus and Mary Chain - Psychocandy (180g Import Vinyl LP) * * *
Click to Enlarge

The Jesus and Mary Chain - Psychocandy

(180g Import Vinyl LP) * * *

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LIJ90534

The Jesus And Mary Chain Psychocandy on 180g Import LP 

Cut from the Brand New 2014 Master 

Taken from Original Archive Tapes & Mastered at Half-Speed

Few bands have had such a huge effect on musical culture, as The Jesus and Mary Chain. Their attitude alone, dressed in black, angry with the world, playing short sets drenched in feedback, set the bench mark in the post Sex Pistols music scene of London. Their seminal 1985 debut Psychocandy would go on to change the course of popular music, channeling the sneering angst and noise distortion of their live shows into hypnotic sweet melodies layered with dark lyrics that would beguile and bewilder.

Released into the world, The Jesus and Mary Chain became the darlings of British press, as they searched to find the owner of the post punk crown in the mid 80’s. With strong Velvet Underground influences, and a despondent but melodic wall of noise, they went on to become the inspiration for such critically acclaimed bands as My Bloody Valentine in the early 90’s.

The band formed in East Kilbride, a wasteland on the outskirts of Glasgow, Scotland in 1983, around the writing partnership of the Reid brothers, William and Jim. They soon moved to London and their “win or die trying” attitude and thrashing guitar sound, was bought to the attention of Alan Mcgee and Creation records, by Bobby Gillespie, vocalist with another Scottish band, Primal Scream. 

The first single “Upside Down” was released, and Gillespie joined the band as drummer. Gillespie pursued the Velvet Underground, single snare and floor tom sound that became prevalent on the recording of the Psychocandy album. In stark contrast to the adrenaline fueled 15 minute live shows, that often ended in violence and riot, the slow throbbing noise pop Psychcocandy album, spawned such classics as “Just Like Honey,” "Never Understand," and "You Trip Me Up." 

“Psychocandy was meant to be a kick in the teeth to all of those who stood in our way at the time, which was practically the whole music industry. In 1985 there were a great many people who predicted no more than a six month life span for The Mary Chain." - Jim Reid

"When they released this album in 1985 they were the best band in world – this is just a fact. A truly seminal rock n roll band, without them so many other bands after them would have never found there [sic] way forwards in a musical sense. The first band I ever worked with that I loved and 30 years later still love. Psychocandy is a modern day classic. It's timeless and deserves your attention again. The Reid brothers are real Scottish heroes. They changed rock music forever." - Alan McGee 

Demon Records is proud to present The Jesus & Mary Chain Psychocandy reissue as an 180-gram heavyweight LP audiophile edition. The LP reissues are cut from a brand new 2014 master – taken from original archive tapes and mastered at half-speed, a first for the catalogue, preserving and enhancing the intense frequencies and volume of the original recordings. This LP package is a replication of the original release with full color inner bag, label and original finish.

The Jesus And Mary Chain Psychocandy Track Listing: 

1.  Just Like Honey
2.  The Living End
3.  Taste The Floor
4.  The Hardest Walk
5.  Cut Dead
6.  In A Hole
7.  Tast of Cindy
8.  Never Understand
9.  Inside Me
10. Sowing Seeds
11. My Little Underground
12. You Trip Me Up
13. Something's Wrong
14. It's So Hard

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Just Like Honey
2. The Living End
3. Taste The Floor
4. The Hardest Walk
5. Cut Dead
6. In A Hole
7. Tast of Cindy
8. Never Understand
9. Inside Me
10. Sowing Seeds
11. My Little Underground
12. You Trip Me Up
13. Something's Wrong
14. It's So Hard

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.