FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > The Lonesome Trio - The Lonesome Trio (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

The Lonesome Trio The Lonesome Trio

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDL11019

The Lonesome Trio The Lonesome Trio on LP   

The Lonesome Trio, featuring Ed Helms, Ian Riggs, and Jacob Tilove, is set to release its long-anticipated self-titled debut album on Sugar Hill Records. The album blends acoustic folk, bluegrass and a hint of lovelorn country. The group features guitar/banjo player Helms, bassist Riggs, and mandolinist Tilove, who have been creating music together for over twenty years after meeting at Oberlin College in the early ‘90s. 

Since then, their lives and careers have gone in wildly different directions - with Helms a successful actor, Riggs a full-time musician, and Tilove an architectural historian. But playing music and writing songs always brought them together. Music truly is the tie that binds these three old friends, which is why this album – a chance for the world to finally hear the songs the trio has shared and tinkered with for years – is simply called The Lonesome Trio.

The Lonesome Trio is a set of 12 original songs recorded with Sugar Hill’s own Vice President of A&R Gary Paczosa (Alison Krauss, Steep Canyon Rangers, Sarah Jarosz) acting as engineer and co-producer. To create the record, the band chose to spend two weeks immersed in writing and recording at the Echo Mountain studios in Asheville, North Carolina.

Despite a wealth of talented friends the band could have called upon to play on this record (Punch Brothers’ Chris “Critter” Eldridge and Noam Pikelny were among the biggest cheerleaders for The Lonesome Trio’s recording adventure), all instruments were played by the core three group members. The instrumentation features the traditional guitar, mandolin, bass, and banjo, but also incorporates vibraphone, piano, organ, and autoharp.

“We decided right out of the gate that the three of us needed to do the whole thing. But we opened the door to lots of additional instruments and layers,” says Helms. “The only rule was that we do it ourselves. I’m proud of that. It was more important than any crisp perfection in the execution and I just love it. That’s our spirit. There is no sound on that album that didn’t come from the three of us.”

The Lonesome Trio The Lonesome Trio Track Listing:

1.  Asheville City Skyline 
2.  Pigeon’s Foot 
3.  Appalachia Apologia 
4.  Whiskey Drink 
5.  River in the Gutter 
6.  The House Song (Sung by the House) 
7.  Mr. Fortune 
8.  Kerhonkson Blues
9.  High Road Low Road 
10. All Gone to Hell 
11. Rising Tide of Love 
12. But Tomorrow

Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.