FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > The Lovin' Spoonful - Daydream (180g Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

The Lovin' Spoonful - Daydream

(180g Vinyl LP)

$5.00 - 17%
23Reward Points
Product Not Eligible for Further Discounts
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDL50811

The Lovin Spoonful Daydream on 180g Mono LP from Sundazed     

Sourced from the Original Kama Sutra Mono Masters / Pressed at RTI 

Greenwich Village, 1964: While the folk boom is still in progress, other music began seeping into the corners and clubs of lower Manhattan. Rock, once down for the count, came back with a vengeance, largely thanks to a klatch of young British bands. Roots music, especially blues, grew rapidly in popularity as folk enthusiasts expanded their horizons. 

In this intoxicating milieu, John Sebastian, Zal Yanovsky, Joe Butler and Steve Boone united to form the Lovin’ Spoonful. Originally a jug band with folk roots, they readily incorporated the sounds they heard all around them. Combining British Invasion jangle with the blues’ growl and folk’s attention to lyrical detail, they forged a sound completely their own. Accomplished musicians all, they had two secret weapons: the guitar virtuosity of Zal Yanovsky and the rising songwriting talent of John Sebastian.

The first Spoonful single, “Do You Believe in Magic,” took AM radio by storm in June of that year, reaching #9 on the Billboard Hot 100. Featuring an irrepressible melody, a chiming autoharp and Yanovsky’s tasteful fills, it was an audacious debut. Their inaugural Kama Sutra LP, also titled Do You Believe in Magic, followed in November 1965. Containing three other Sebastian originals and one song credited to the band, the balance of the LP contained traditional blues covers and songs by contemporary writers. Reaching #32 on the Billboard Top 200, it established the band as one of country’s brightest new talents. 

By the release of their second album, Daydream, in March 1966, the band’s songwriting chops had fully blossomed, particularly Sebastian’s, who wrote or co-wrote all but one of the songs. The album’s first single, “You Didn’t Have to Be So Nice” reached #10 on the Hot 100 and married a signature Yanovsky riff with a galloping piano part to form an indelible hook. The title track, a mid-tempo reverie with an ace whistling solo, did even better, soaring to #2. Skipping ahead a few decades, the album cut “Butchie’s Tune” was even used to great effect in season five of AMC's Mad MenSourced from the original Kama Sutra mono masters, this masterpiece has been pressed on 180g vinyl at RTI courtesy of Sundazed Records

The Lovin Spoonful Daydream Track Listing:

1.  Daydream 
2.  There She Is 
3.  It's Not Time Now 
4.  Warm Baby 
5.  Day Blues 
6.  Let The Boy Rock N Roll 
7.  Jug Band Music 
8.  Didn't Want To Have To Do It 
9.  You Didn't Have To Be So Nice 
10. Bald Headed Lena 
11. Butchie's Tune 
12. Big Noise From Speonk 
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Daydream
2. There She Is
3. It's Not Time Now
4. Warm Baby
5. Day Blues
6. Let The Boy Rock N Roll
7. Jug Band Music
8. Didn't Want To Have To Do It
9. You Didn't Have To Be So Nice
10. Bald Headed Lena
11. Butchie's Tune
12. Big Noise From Speonk

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More