FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > The Make Up - Destination Love: Live At Cold Rice (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

The Make Up - Destination Love: Live At Cold Rice

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDM99912

The Make Up was a group which composed superior, original music, performed that music dynamically in spaces and nightclubs, and organized the performances at which they appeared across the U.S.A. and the world. These performances were characterized by the freneticism, catharsis and spirituality of what can only be described as gospel yeh-yeh music. They were a total departure from the boring pantomime of rock 'n' roll as we know it, inflicting a sublime theatre on their audience which resembled a baptism, or perhaps an orgy.

Their 'singer' was typically employed as a lead-chanter, while the others perpetrated a rhythmic drone on the subjects of their "Rhythm Hive." They were: on guitar, microphone and organ, James Canty; on center microphone, Ian Svenonius; on bass guitar and microphone, Michelle Mae and on the drum kit, Steve Gamoba. Ian, Steve and James once were part of the Nation of Ulysses, while Michelle took part in a project called Frumpies. The three were from Washington, D.C. while the one was from Olympia, WA, but they formed in February 1995 to present their international vision to a world they were sure was steeped in stultifying cynicism.

Produced by Guy Picciotto, Destination Love: Live! At Cold Rice is The Make-Up's debut full-length album, originally released in 1995. The 12" LP edition was first remastered and reissued in 2009, but didn't stay in print for long. The album was again reissued in June 2012. The band has admitted that although it says Live! in the title Destination Love is actually a studio album with fake crowd noise added in the spirit of 1960s-era live releases.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

1. Intro: Hold It
2. Here Comes The Judge
3. You + I vs. The World
4. They Live By Night
5. Bring The Birds Down
6. Don't Mind the Mind
7. Evidence Is Everywhere
8. We Can't Be Contained
9. Introductions
10. Don't Step On The Children
11. How Pretty Can You Get
12. R U A Believer Pt. II
13. International Airport
14. We Gotta Get Offa This Rock
15. So Chocolatey / Destination Love
16. Outro: Hold It

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.