FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > The Monkees - The Monkees Present (180G Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

The Monkees - The Monkees Present

(180G Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDM7018
The Monkees The Monkees Present on Colored 180g LP

Mastered by Joe Reagoso!

After the success of their top thirty Instant Replay album, The Monkees were soon back in the recording studio thanks to the Saturday morning airings of their classic Monkees television show on CBS in 1969. These critically acclaimed shows were a launching pad for a plethora of new songs that weren’t originally used in the programs and helped launch their superstar status to a whole new legion of fans, while maintaining their millions of followers worldwide.

Originally released in 1969, The Monkees Present was the eighth hit album from the The Monkees on Colgems Records. As a more introspective session from the band, each Monkee gets a solid opportunity to present their own individual aura in the band format, making this a highly memorable effort.

The Monkees Present featured two amazing hit singles from Mike Nesmith with "Listen To The Band," featuring the rare original LP mix, and "Good Clean Fun." Always the innovator, Nesmith’s compositions here truly predate the Southern California country-rock sound by several years, featuring some of Nashville’s finest musicians of the '60s.

The late great Davy Jones outdoes himself with the brilliant soulful balladry of "If I Knew." He continues the groove with his hip café leaning sounds of "French Song," plus a look to his past Monkees affiliation with Boyce and Hart’s rocker "Looking For The Good Times," originally recorded during their More Of The Monkees sessions.

Micky Dolenz resonates his much emulated talents with incredible performances on the album opener "Little Girl." This tune features the stunning guitar work of Louie Shelton, who did the amazing speed guitar licks on their hit "Valeri." Dolenz also hit the pop music charts with his protest single "Mommy and Daddy" which is also included in this masterwork. Plus a tender lullaby "Pillow Time" written by his mom closes out this wonderful 12-song classic from these legendary superstars.

Friday Music is honored and proud to continue their extensive Monkees 180 Gram Vinyl Series with the classic The Monkees Present mastered by Joe Reagoso (The Monkees, Davy Jones, Elvis Presley). To help celebrate the 2012 Monkees Reunion, Friday has also included the original black and white album cover not seen in years in a gatefold presentation.

The Monkees The Monkees Present Track Listing:

1.  Little Girl
2.  Good Clean Fun
3.  If I Knew
4.  Bye Bye Baby Bye Bye
5.  Never Tell A Woman Yes
6.  Looking For The Good Times
7.  Ladies Aid Society
8.  Listen To The Band
9.  French Song
10. Mommy And Daddy
11. Oklahoma Backroom Dancer
12. Pillow Time
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Little Girl
2. Good Clean Fun
3. If I Knew
4. Bye Bye Baby Bye Bye
5. Never Tell A Woman Yes
6. Looking For The Good Times
7. Ladies Aid Society
8. Listen To The Band
9. French Song
10. Mommy And Daddy
11. Oklahoma Backroom Dancer
12. Pillow Tim

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More