FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > The Sound Of Music: Soundtrack-50th Anniversary Deluxe - Various (Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

The Sound Of Music: Soundtrack 50th Anniversary Deluxe - Various

(Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDS65512

The Sound Of Music Soundtrack: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition - Various Artists on Limited Edition 180g 2LP

Mastered from the Original Analog Tapes by Sean Brennan at Battery Studios & Cut by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio

Featuring Previously Unreleased Score Cues & All Vocal Performances for the First Time in One Release!

Also includes New Introductory Notes from Julie Andrews & Theodore S. Chapin Plus In-Depth Liner Notes Written by Laurence Malson, Author of The Sound Of Music Companion!

Nominated for 10 Academy Awards and winner of five, including Best Picture and Best Director, the iconic film adaptation of Rodgers & Hammerstein’s The Sound Of Music stands as the most successful movie musical of all time, enjoying a seven-year run as the highest-grossing film of all time from 1966 to 1972 and remaining a consistent favorite through worldwide television broadcasts and home video releases. In 2001, the film was selected for preservation in the Library of Congress’ National Film Registry.

The film’s Grammy-nominated, multi-platinum soundtrack, featuring the beautiful vocals of Julie Andrews, has sold more than 10 million units worldwide. The unforgettable songs, including “My Favorite Things,” “Do-Re-Mi,” “Sixteen Going On Seventeen,” “Climb Ev’ry Mountain” and more, have become unquestionable staples of popular music, having been covered, referenced and even sampled many times over the past half century.

As part of an extensive 50th anniversary campaign in 2015, The Sound Of Music’s Soundtrack will be reissued in a variety of formats, including a limited 180-gram 2LP deluxe edition with previously unreleased score cues and all vocal performances for the first time in one release - remastered from the original analog tapes by Sean Brennan at Battery Studios and cut by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio.

In addition to the previously unreleased material, the package will also include new introductory notes from Julie Andrews and Theodore S. Chapin, president and executive director of Rodgers & Hammerstein; and in-depth liner notes written by Laurence Malson, author of The Sound Of Music Companion.

“These songs are so satisfying to sing - they are classic Broadway, and they became classic film.” – Julie Andrews, Introduction to The Sound Of Music: 50th Anniversary Edition 
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Prelude and The Sound Of Music *
  2. Overture / Praeludium / Dixit Dominus / Morning Hymn / Alleluia *
  3. Maria
  4. I Have Confidence
  5. Sixteen Going On Seventeen *
  6. My Favorite Things / Salzburg Montage *
  7. Do-Re-Mi
  8. The Sound Of Music
  9. The Lonely Goatherd
  10. Edelweiss
  1. Grand Waltz *
  2. Laendler
  3. So Long, Farewell
  4. Processional Waltz *
  5. Goodbye Maria / How Can Love Survive Waltz *
  6. Edelweiss Waltz *
  7. Entr'acte
  8. Climb Ev'ry Mountain *
  9. My Favorite Things (reprise)
  10. Something Good *
  11. Processional and Maria (The Wedding)
  12. Sixteen Going On Seventeen (reprise)
  13. Do-Re-Mi (reprise)
  14. Edelweiss (reprise)
  15. So Long, Farewell (reprise)
  16. Nuns And Nazis / Escape / Climb Ev'ry Mountain (reprise) / Finale *
  17. End Titles
* Includes Unreleased Material from Film

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.