FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > The Stark Reality - Discovers Hoagy Carmichael’s Music Shop (Vinyl 3LP)
Click to Enlarge

The Stark Reality - Discovers Hoagy Carmichael’s Music Shop

(Vinyl 3LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDS50951

The Stark Reality's legendary album 1970, ...Discovers Hoagy Carmichael's Music Shop, is a funky, jazzy, fuzz-toned cult classic, consisting of very original interpretations of a children's album written by Hoagy Carmichael and originally released on Ahmad Jamal's boutique label, AJP Records. For years, the album made the rounds in underground hip-hop circles (being sampled along the way by the likes of Large Professor, J-Live, Madlib, and Black Eyed Peas), trading hands for ridiculous sums on the second-hand market - even after it saw a reissue on Now Again as part of the Acting, Thinking, Feeling 6LP boxset. Now, it's available on vinyl for the very first time since its initial 1970 release in a deluxe 3LP edition complete with a 56 page booklet featuring never before seen photos, extensive liner notes by Egon of Now Again Records, commentary by AJP founder Ahmad Jamal, and annotation and an interview with Monty Stark.

"The music of the Stark Reality is as playful as it is wild...as fantastic as it is frazzled." - Rolling Stone

"One of the most prized ‘funk' artifacts of all time, Stark's project allies Hendrix-stoned guitars, heavily-fuzzed vibraphone and Bitches Brew rhythms..." - Mojo Magazine

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Junkman’s Song
2. Thirty Days Hath September
3. Cooking
4. Dreams
5. Grandfather Clock

1. Shooting Stars
2. Rocket Ship
3. Bustin’ Out Of Doors
4. Comrades
5. All You Need To Make Music

1. Merry Go Round
2. The Whale
3. The Old Prospector
4. Traveling
5. Clouds
6. Swing High
7. Blue Pillow

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.