FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > The Stones - Three Blind Mice (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

The Stones - Three Blind Mice

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDS95333

The Stones Three Blind Mice on LP + Download w/ Bonus Content

Of the four bands represented on the Dunedin Double EP, the early 80’s Flying Nun release that introduced that city’s fledging indie sound to the wider world, The Stones are probably the least remembered and least appreciated. The bad was birthed by singer/guitarist Wayne Elsey’s decision to quit Bored Games to start a band that sounded like The Clean. 

Their debut came on April 25, 1981 at an Otago University a gig headlined by Bored Games (Shayne Carter) and new comers The Chills and Verlaine’s (a line up which in retrospect, would make any Flying Nun/low fi pop fan drool). Elsey’s vision for a band that sounds like The Clean didn’t really come to fruition. 

The Stones were too bright to not to create their own sound one wrapped in braggadocio and swagger. Fast, aggressive guitars, driving rhythm section with a knack for fluid pop structures. Charismatic and smart The Stones had the ability to sound completely empathetic and threatening all at once. 

As all good things, The Stones were not to last, releasing one full length Another Disc Another Dollar before breaking up two years in. The band was part of the wave of Dunedin bands popular around the country and mystery to the middle. The band site the $38 dollars earned opening for Tall Dwarfs a career highlight. 

• Compilation curated by New Zealand/Noise legend Bruce Russell (The Dead C, Xpressway Records)
• Liner notes by Shayne Carter and illustrations from Chris Knox
• Printed inner sleeve, 12 x 12 insert and download code w/ bonus unheard live recordings

The Stones Three Blind Mice Track Listing:           

LP - Three Blind Mice
1.  Gunner Ho
2.  See Red
3.  Mother/Father
4.  At the Café
5.  Something New
6.  Final Days
7.  Down and Around
8.  Funky Conversations
9.  Surf’s Up
10. Fad World

Download Bonus Content
1.  It’s a Shame
2.  We Live
3.  Everywhere Man
4.  Diamond Dirt
5.  Think About It
6.  Looking at You
7.  Ward 9
8.  Route 69 

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Gunner Ho
2. See Red
3. Mother/Father
4. At the Café
5. Something New
6. Final Days
7. Down and Around
8. Funky Conversations
9. Surf’s Up
10. Fad World

Download Bonus Content
1. It’s a Shame
2. We Live
3. Everywhere Man
4. Diamond Dirt
5. Think About It
6. Looking at You
7. Ward 9
8. Route 69

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.