FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > The Who - The Polydor Singles (Limited Edition 45rpm 15 x 7" Vinyl Box Set)
Click to Enlarge

The Who The Polydor Singles

(Limited Edition 45rpm 15 x 7" Vinyl Box Set)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDW53581

The Who Volume 4: The Polydor Singles 1975-2015 on Limited Edition 15 x 45RPM 7" Vinyl Box Set

The long-awaited fourth installment in The Who's singles box set series has been announced for release in May 2016. Tracing the final part in The Who's singles story to date, from the years 1975 to 2015, it contains 15 x 7"s pressed on heavyweight vinyl, replete with picture sleeves and replica artwork, collecting the group's A and B-side releases on the Polydor label.

If The Who's creative output up to 1975 hadn't already made the case (they had, after all, released two groundbreaking rock operas, Tommy and Quadrophenia, along with a slew of classic albums, among them The Who Sell Out, Live At Leeds and Who's Next), the four-decade period covered in Volume 4: The Polydor Singles 1975-2015 is a clear reminder of the group's ability to evolve and adapt to any situation they found themselves in.

As punk attempted to lay waste to the rock bands that emerged in the 60s, The Who more than held their own with the likes of "Who Are You," issued in 1978. After the tragic death of drummer Keith Moon later that same year, Pete Townshend, Roger Daltrey and John Entwistle recalibrated themselves for the '80s, releasing Face Dances and It's Hard at the beginning of the decade, flexing their hit-making prowess with the likes of "You Better You Bet."

The group remained sporadically active as a live band across the next two decades, but when John Entwistle passed away in 2002, Townshend and Daltrey found themselves having to yet again roll with the punches and reboot their beloved band. The Wire & Glass EP emerged in 2006, a taster of what would become Endless Wire, The Who's first studio outing in 24 years. Taking as its inspiration the Townshend novella The Boy Who Heard Music, Wire & Glass formed the core of the mini-opera that was itself at the heart of Endless Wire. Though new music wasn't coming as fast as it had in previous decades, the Wire & Glass EP was followed, in 2014, by "Be Lucky," a new song recorded for the group's anniversary collection The Who Hits 50!

A fitting celebration of one of the longest-serving bands to have emerged from the '60s, Volume 4: The Polydor Singles 1975-2015 brings the group's story fully up to date. Though, as ever with The Who, you'd be unwise to count it as a full-stop on their remarkable career.

• Volume four of a four part set of classic Who singles by labels (Brunswick, Reaction, Track and Polydor), released to coincide with the band's 50th Anniversary
• 15 x 7" singles from the band's Polydor Records era (1975-2015) - pressed on heavyweight vinyl with card picture sleeves (where applicable) reproducing the period graphics front and back
• Includes classic hits - "Squeeze Box," "Who Are You," "You Better You Bet," "Eminence Front" (scheduled for release in the UK where sleeves were printed but never released), "Real Good-Looking Boy" & "Be Lucky"
• Housed in a rigid ‘lid-and-tray' outer box, full color and matt lamination. 7" sized 20-page color booklet with liner notes about each release and period memorabilia

Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

1. Listening To You/See Me, Feel Me b/w Overture
2. Squeeze Box b/w Success Story
3. Who Are You b/w Had Enough
4. Long Live Rock b/w I'm the Face, My Wife (live)
5. 5.15 b/w I'm One
6. You Better You Bet b/w The Quiet One
7. Don't Let Go The Coat b/w You
8. Athena b/w A Man Is A Man
9. Eminence Front b/w It's Your Turn
10. Twist and Shout b/w I Can't Explain (Both live)
11. Won't Get Fooled Again / Bony Maronie (Live at Young Vic)
12. Join Together b/w I Can See For Miles and Behind Blue Eyes (All three tracks live from 1989 US tour)
13. Real Good-Looking Boy b/w Old Red Wine
14. Wire & Glass EP: Sound Round, Pick Up The Peace, Endless Wire, We Got A Hit, They Made My Dream Come True, Mirror Door
15. Be Lucky b/w I Can't Explain (remixed)

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.