FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Tim Hecker - Harmony In Ultraviolet (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Tim Hecker - Harmony In Ultraviolet

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDH10215
Tim Hecker Harmony In Ultraviolet on 45RPM 2LP

2006's Harmony in Ultraviolet is Tim Hecker’s sixth album. It is a continuation of Hecker's interest in spectral communications, noise, impressionist musics, thresholds of listening pleasure/pain, and the limits of digital composition. 

This album is a significant development of his song-craft, challenging the usefulness of descriptors such as ambient, drone, metal, noise and even electronic music. If references are necessary it could be described as a sonata for the elements, songs of crackling embers, tidal pools, spruce skylines and autumn winds. Gerhard Richter's abstract paintings are also a fair orientation. 

Materially speaking, it is a record of whirring drones, whispering fissures, dense disintegrating chords, late-night noise and truth-telling harmonics. Yet this record follows no overarching process, no underlying narrative. It is both a homage for the Italian partigiani and also not at all. It is songs about ghost writing and midnight whispers but then again it isn't. In many ways this album can be viewed as a work of total destruction, embracing indeterminacy as an aesthetic ideal.

This is the first proper vinyl release for Hecker’s breakthrough 2006 album. At the time of original issue, there was a small run of a few hundred vinyl copies done by a small German label, but this was pressed on an inferior sounding single LP which was much too short for the length of the album, not to mention the wide dynamic range of the recording. This new version is mastered at 45RPM over four sides for maximum sound quality.

"The whole album moves with a sort of barely-contained violence that threatens to disintegrate or burst tracks into flame outs at nearly any point. It's powerful and intense ambient music that really doesn't sound like anything else being created right now." - Almost Cool

Tim Hecker Harmony In Ultraviolet Track Listing:

1.   Rainbow Blood   
2.   Stags, Aircraft, Kings And Secretaries   
3.   Palimpsest I   
4.   Chimeras   
5.   Dungeoneering   
6.   Palimpsest II   
7.   Spring Heeled Jack Flies Tonight   
8.   Harmony In Blue I   
9.   Harmony In Blue II   
10.  Harmony In Blue III   
11.  Harmony In Blue IV

1.  Radio Spiricom   
2.  Whitecaps Of White Noise I   
3.  Whitecaps Of White Noise II
4.  Blood Rainbow 
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Rainbow Blood
2. Stags, Aircraft, Kings And Secretaries
3. Palimpsest I
4. Chimeras
5. Dungeoneering
6. Palimpsest II
7. Spring Heeled Jack Flies Tonight
8. Harmony In Blue I
9. Harmony In Blue II
10. Harmony In Blue III
11. Harmony In Blue IV

1. Radio Spiricom
2. Whitecaps Of White Noise I
3. Whitecaps Of White Noise II
4. Blood Rainbow

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More