FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
There are more items in your cart than displayed above. Click 'View Cart' to see the complete cart.
Music > Vinyl > Tom Petty - The Live Anthology (7LPBox Set)
Click to Enlarge

Tom Petty - The Live Anthology

(7LPBox Set)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDP7087

Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers The Live Anthology Vinyl 7LP Box Set (2018 Repress): Career-Spanning Collection Mastered Directly from the Live Recordings, Includes Deluxe Booklet

This one is a must. Decades in the making and culled from hundreds of hours of live concert recordings covering nearly every era of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers' tours, The Live Anthology 7LP box set spans 1978-2007 and represents the best tracks as personally chosen by producers Tom Petty, Mike Campbell, and Ryan Ulyate. Unlike anything previously available, this is the band's story as told through the music alone. Out of print on vinyl for nearly a decade, it is finally back and a colossal reminder of the vast scope, rock n' roll spirit, and performance skills of the much-missed Petty.

You'll hear everything as it went down. The producers made no fixes or overdubs, letting the newly mixed original recordings showcase the invention, spontaneity, craft, and the musicianship that made Petty and the Heartbreakers among the most celebrated live performers of their time. Along with powerful interpretations of their own classic hits and originals, The Live Anthology features the band tackling some of their best-loved cover material, from classics to obscure beauties to unexpected adaptations including the theme from Goldfinger, the Zombies' "I Want You Back Again," the Grateful Dead's "Friend of the Devil," early Fleetwood Mac's "Oh Well," Booker T. and the MGs' "Green Onions," James Brown's "Good, Good Lovin'" and many more. Petty and the Heartbreakers travel wide, paying their musical debts through song and showing just how confidently the band moves across genres and over time.

The Live Anthology features artwork and packaging by renowned contemporary artist Shepard Fairey. All 51 tracks were mastered specifically from the original live performance recordings and pressed onto 7 x 140g audiophile-quality vinyl LPs. An accompanying deluxe book with liner notes offering personal perspective on the band and their music by Tom Petty, Warren Zanes, Bill Flanagan, Robert Hilburn, Joel Selvin, Austin Scaggs, and Phil Sutcliffe rounds out this once-in-a-lifetime set.


Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Ladies And Gentlemen...
  2. Nightwatchman
  3. Even The Losers
  4. Here Comes My Girl
  5. I Need To Know
  6. A Thing About You
  7. I'm In Love
  8. I'm A Man
  9. Straight Into Darkness
  1. Breakdown
  2. Something In The Air
  3. I Just Want To Make Love To You
  4. Drivin' Down To Georgia
  5. Lost Without You
  6. Refugee
  1. Diddy Wah Diddy
  2. I Want You Back Again
  3. Wildflowers
  4. Friend Of The Devil
  5. A Woman In Love [It's Not Me]
  6. It's Good To Be King
  1. Angel Dream [No. 2]
  2. Learning To Fly
  3. Like A Diamond
  4. Mary Jane's Last Dance
  5. Jammin' Me
  6. The Wild One, Forever
  7. Mystic Eyes
  1. Green Onions
  2. Louisiana Rain
  3. Melinda
  4. Goldfinger
  5. Surrender
  6. Dreamville
  7. Spike
  1. Any Way You Want It
  2. American Girl
  3. Runnin' Down A Dream
  4. Oh Well
  5. Crawling Back To You
  6. My Life/Your World
  7. I Won't Back Down
  8. Square One
  1. The Waiting
  2. Have Love Will Travel
  3. Free Fallin'
  4. Southern Accents
  5. Don't Come Around Here No More
  6. Good, Good Lovin'
  7. Century City
  8. Alright For Now

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio
MD 2020 Catalog


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More