FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Townes Van Zandt - In The Beginning (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Townes Van Zandt - In The Beginning

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (2)
Item: LDV2061
Townes Van Zandt In The Beginning on LP

Appearing on Vinyl for the First Time Courtesy of Fat Possum!

Widely considered one of the greatest songwriters of his generation and of music in general, Townes Van Zandt has been hailed by music luminaries far and wide and championed by such singers as Steve Earlie, Emmylou Harris and Willie Nelson among many others. 

Fat Possum is proud to reissue In The Beginning on vinyl for the very first time, a collection of ten demo recordings produced by Jack Clement (Johnny Cash, U2, Waylon Jennings) in 1966 and originally issued in 2003. Recorded almost two years before the release of his debut album For The Sake of the Song in 1968, this is Townes in his original element and already writing eloquently about drifters, misfits and gamblers. 

"We tend to picture Townes in troubadour mode, which is how he performed his songs live and how he often committed them to tape. Yet a handful of these ten demos, all of them produced by Jack Clement, find him in the company of a rhythm section that’s as sympathetic as any that backed him on record. Producers at times saddled Townes with stiff, cluttered arrangements that got in the way of the songs; the playing here, however, is loose, unobtrusive, and in the pocket." -  Bill Friskics-Warren, No Depression

Townes Van Zandt In The Beginning Track Listing:

1.  Black Widow Blues
2.  Maryetta's Song
3.  Hunger Child Blues
4.  Gypsy Friday
5.  Waitin' for the Day
6.  Black Jack Mama
7.  When Your Dream Lovers Die
8.  Colorado Bound
9.  Big Country Blues
10. Black Crow Blues
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Black Widow Blues
2. Maryetta's Song
3. Hunger Child Blues
4. Gypsy Friday
5. Waitin' for the Day
6. Black Jack Mama
7. When Your Dream Lovers Die
8. Colorado Bound
9. Big Country Blues
10. Black Crow Blues

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.