FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Trashmen - Surfin Bird (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Trashmen - Surfin Bird

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LSUN107
The Trashmen Surfin Bird on LP

Hailing from the wintry heartland of Minneapolis, MN, The Trashmen achieved cult immortality with a passel of landlocked surf anthems and reckless garage-rock gems, best exemplified by their immortal anthem "Surfin' Bird," two and a half minutes of inspired, unhinged mayhem that's never been equaled.

But "Surfin' Bird" is just the tip of the iceberg on the 1964 album that bears the song's name. The only longplayer that the band released during their original lifespan, Surfin' Bird demonstrates that the Trashmen were no novelty act or one-hit wonder, but a brilliant, original outfit who filtered their R&B and surf influences through their own cheerfully demented sensibility to make some of their era's most reckless, uninhibited rock 'n' roll.

In addition to the iconic "Surfin' Bird," the album features the surf-and-drag killers "King of the Surf," "My Woodie" and "Tube City," along with the "Bird"-themed sequels "Bird Bath" and "Bird Dance Beat." Elsewhere on the album, the Trashmen's surf-rock skills animate the instrumental standards "Misirlou," "Malagueña" and "Kuk," and the band delivers storming readings of Buddy Holly's "It's So Easy" and Barrett Strong's "Money (That's What I Want)."

The Trashmen Surfin Bird Track Listing:

1.  Surfin' Bird
2.  King Of The Surf
3.  Henrietta
4.  Miserlou
5.  Malaguena
6.  It's So Easy
7.  Break-Up
8.  Church Key
9.  Tube City
10. My Woodie
11. Bird Bath
12. Kuk
13. Money
14. Sleeper
15. Walk Don't Run
16. Raw-Hide
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Surfin' Bird
2. King Of The Surf
3. Henrietta
4. Miserlou
5. Malaguena
6. It's So Easy
7. Break-Up
8. Church Key
9. Tube City
10. My Woodie
11. Bird Bath
12. Kuk
13. Money
14. Sleeper
15. Walk Don't Run
16. Raw-Hide

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.