FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Tycho - PAST IS PROLOGUE (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge


(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDT1314

Tycho Past Is Prologue on 2LP + Download

Available for the First Time on Vinyl

Tycho’s Past Is Prologue has a storied history. The tracks began as Sunrise Projector, Tycho’s 2004 full-length debut on Gammaphone records; the record was then expanded and reissued in 2006 as Past Is Prologue on Merck records; and now, Ghostly International is reissuing Tycho’s original masterwork, re-introducing graphic designer/producer Scott Hansen’s musical universe: a lush, expansive imaginary landscape of sepia-toned keyboards, warm downtempo beats, and mile after mile of sun-dappled beauty.

Scott Hansen’s alter-ego is as graphic designer ISO50, and his visual work and musical creations share a similar aesthetic: saturated, faintly nostalgic tones, artfully arranged compositions, with a complex internal rhythm and color-outside-the-lines joy that’s both easy on the eyes/ears and tremendously addictive.
Past Is Prologue is an ideal point of entry into Tycho’s world: “Dictaphone’s Lament” is an anthemic rush of melody and rhythm with cross-panned, dueling basslines and a gauzy, late-afternoon feel; “Send and Receive” sounds like a music box designed by Brian Eno, a fine mesh of melodic plips and plops and brisk, skittering hi-hats. The title track is a low-level stunner, splitting the difference between Rhodes-heavy ambient and drum ‘n bass - both laid-back and frantic. Past Is Prologue also includes remixes from Chachi Jones and Nautilis.

As its title implies, Past Is Prologue is only the beginning. In the years since its initial release, Scott Hansen has been refining his approach, woodshedding new material and buffing it until it shines like polished brass. For Tycho, the Past Is Prologue to a limitless future. Available for the first time on vinyl. Deluxe packaging with gatefold tip-on matte jacket with inner art sleeves.

Tycho Past Is Prologue Track Listing:

1.  From Home
2.  Sunrise Projector
3.  Dictaphone's Lament
4.  PBS
5.  Send And Receive
6.  Brother
7.  A Circular Reeducation

1.  Past Is Prologue
2.  Cloud Generator
3.  The Disconnect
4.  Cascade
5.  Phoenix
6.  Send And Receive (Chachi Jones Remix)
7.  Sunrise Projector (Nautilis Remix)

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. From Home
2. Sunrise Projector
3. Dictaphone's Lament
4. PBS
5. Send And Receive
6. Brother
7. A Circular Reeducation

1. Past Is Prologue
2. Cloud Generator
3. The Disconnect
4. Cascade
5. Phoenix
6. Send And Receive (Chachi Jones Remix)
7. Sunrise Projector (Nautilis Remix)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.