FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Ventures - 4 Original Albums (180g Import Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Ventures 4 Original Albums

(180g Import Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LIV61310

The Ventures 4 Original Albums on 180g Import 2LP

2LP-Set from Vinyl Passion Collecting the Four Ventures' Original Albums - Walk Don't Run, The Ventures, Another Smash! & The Colorful Ventures

If ever there was a "band that launched a thousand bands," it would be the Ventures. Founded in Tacoma, WA in 1958, their guitar-based instrumental sound would prove hugely influential, inspiring countless followers to pick up a guitar, bass or set of drumsticks and try to emulate their heroes. As these musical neophytes would soon learn, it wasn't as easy as it initially appeared. The Ventures were masters of tone and technique, deftly arranging their instruments in a seamless approach that was instantly recognizable.

Because they were an instrumental group, their songs needed no translation, which resulted in a huge worldwide following. While many rock bands have claimed to be "big in Japan" over the years, the Ventures were the country's first rock superstars and they maintain a devoted worldwide following to this day. With over 100 million records sold, they are the best-selling instrumental group of all time.

1960's Walk Don't Run is the debut album by the Ventures which was released to capitalize on the success of the hit single of the same name. A mix of originals and hits of the day, Walk Don't Run helped define a whole new instrumental music genre, that would lead to the surf guitar craze a few years later.

The Ventures self-titled album was originally issued in 1961 and it finds the band further defining the new instrumental sound they had pioneered with their 1960 debut Walk Don't Run. The album was numbered Dolton 8004, but was actually released and charted after Another Smash!, Dolton 8006. Featuring the hit singles "Perfidia" and "Ram-Bunk-Shush."

Planned for release as The Ventures third album and numbered accordingly, Dolton 8006, Another Smash! was actually released as the second set and charted second. It followed the Walk Don't Run album and was a second straight top 40 entry. The marquee cuts, in addition to "Lullaby of the Leaves," are "Ghost Riders In The Sky," "Wheels," "Bulldog," "Raw-Hide," "Meet Mister Callahan," "Last Date," and "Beyond The Reef." The band also pays homage to one of their influences, Chet Atkins, with a fine version of "Trambone." There are also several great originals on the album as well including "Lonely Heart," "Ginchy" and "Josie."

Originally issued in September of 1961, The Colorful Ventures is the Ventures fourth full-length and features 12 tracks all with a color theme including "Blue Moon," "Yellow Jacket," "Bluer Than Blue" and "Red Top," among others!

Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

Walk Don't Run
1. Morgen
2. Raunchy
3. Home
4. My Own True Love
5. The Switch
6. Walk, Don't Run
7. Night Train
8. No Trespassing
9. Caravan
10. Sleep Walk
11. The McCoy
12. Honky Tonk
The Ventures
13. The Shuck
14. Detour
15. Ram-Bunk-Shush
16. Hawaiian War Chant
17. Perfidia
18. Harlem Nocturne
19. Blue Tango
20. Ups 'N Downs
21. Lonesome Town
22. Torquay
23. Wailin'
24. Moon Of Manakoora

Another Smash!
1. (Ghost) Riders in the Sky
2. Wheels
3. Lonely Heart
4. Bulldog
5. Lullaby of the Leaves
6. Beyond the Reef
7. Raw-Hide
8. Meet Mister Callahan
9. Trambone
10. Last Date
11. Ginchy
12. Josie
The Colorful Ventures
13. Blue Moon
14. Yellow Jacket
15. Bluer Than Blue
16. Cherry Pink and Apple Blossom White
17. Green Leaves of Summer
18. Blue Skies
19. Greenfields
20. Red Top
21. White Silver Sands
22. Yellow Bird
23. Orange Fire
24. Silver City

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.