FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Vince Guaraldi Trio - A Charlie Brown Christmas (200g Vinyl LP) * * *
Click to Enlarge

Vince Guaraldi Trio - A Charlie Brown Christmas

(200g Vinyl LP) * * *

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LAP08431

Vince Guaraldi Trio A Charlie Brown Christmas on 200g LP from Analogue Productions   

Original Soundtrack Recording from the Famous CBS Television Special!

Mastered from the Original Stereo Analog Master Tapes by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio 

Ever since its debut in 1965, the Vince Guaraldi Trio's album A Charlie Brown Christmas has reigned supreme as a Yuletide classic. The beloved Peanuts animated special from which it sprang was a sensation the first time it aired on CBS-TV, and so was its cool soundtrack by the veteran Bay Area pianist, which introduced countless children to the joys of jazz. Buoyed by annual airings of the program, the album has remained extremely popular ever since. A 1987 reissue went platinum as it sailed to No. 9 on Billboard's pop album charts, an amazing achievement for any holiday collection, much less one more than two decades old at the time.

While A Charlie Brown Christmas may well be Vince Guaraldi's best-known recording (it was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 2007 and the Library of Congress's National Recording Registry five years later), it was by no means his first success. The San Francisco native emerged as vibraphonist Cal Tjader's rock-solid pianist before forming a trio and launching his own recording career during the mid-1950s on the Bay Area-based Fantasy label. In late 1962, Guaraldi's irresistible original "Cast Your Fate to the Wind" became a surprise national hit - a rare example of a jazz pianist cracking the upper reaches of the pop charts.

Television producer Lee Mendelson heard "Cast Your Fate to the Wind" and asked Guaraldi to write the score for A Charlie Brown Christmas. It was such a triumph that Guaraldi composed the music for 17 Peanuts television specials in all, a spectacular streak ended only by his untimely death in 1976 at the age of 47. However, A Charlie Brown Christmas remains the pianist's crowning achievement!

Peanuts and Vince Guaraldi historian Derrick Bang even goes so far as to say, "Back people into a corner and limit them to just one holiday album for the rest of their lives, and I suspect that an impressive number of folks, jazz fans or not, would select this one!" 

Vince Guaraldi (piano)
Monty Budwig (bass)
Colin Bailey (drums)

Vince Guaraldi A Charlie Brown Christmas Track Listing:

1.  O Tannenbaum
2.  What Child Is This
3.  My Little Drum
4.  Linus and Lucy
5.  Christmas Time Is Here (Instrumental)
6.  Christmas Time Is Here (Vocal Version)
7.  Skating
8.  Hark, The Herald Angels Sing
9.  Christmas Is Coming
10. Fur Elise
11. The Christmas Song

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. O Tannenbaum
2. What Child Is This
3. My Little Drum
4. Linus and Lucy
5. Christmas Time Is Here (Instrumental)
6. Christmas Time Is Here (Vocal Version)
7. Skating
8. Hark, The Herald Angels Sing
9. Christmas Is Coming
10. Fur Elise
11. The Christmas Song

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.