FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Watkins Family Hour - Watkins Family Hour (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Watkins Family Hour - Watkins Family Hour

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDW46189

Watkins Family Hour Watkins Family Hour on LP + Download

Featuring Sean & Sara Watkins (Nickel Creek), Fiona Apple and Benmont Tench (Tom Petty)

The world-renowned collective Watkins Family Hour features siblings Sara and Sean Watkins along with Fiona Apple, Benmont Tench, Don Heffington, Greg Leisz and Sebastian Steinberg. Watkins Family Hour began in 2002 as a monthly musical residency hosted by Sara and Sean and held exclusively at Los Angeles’ Largo at the Coronet. 

Recorded live over three days in the studio of their friend and producer-engineer Sheldon Gomberg, their self-titled debut captures the freewheeling spirit of the collective’s live shows. An all-covers affair, the album additionally includes Sara leading vocals on the Robert Earl Keen’s “Feelin’ Good Again,” Sean reinterpreting Bob Dylan’s “Going Going Gone,” and Apple singing “Where I Ought To Be,” originally performed by Skeeter Davis. 

Of the album and tour, Sara comments, “Taking the Watkins Family Hour on tour and releasing this record feels like the right next step. The show is about a community of players and that community stretches across the country. If we can’t get everyone to L.A. to do our show, we’ll come to them. We are coming to towns where we have friends and we can have those moments, even if it’s not our home club. It’s the people on stage who make that happen; it’s just a matter of getting the right group of people together. We are being thoughtful about where we are going so we can have that sort of flexibility. It will be a very different show in every town.”

Watkins Family Hour Watkins Family Hour Track Listing:

1.  Feelin’ Good Again (written by Robert Earl Keen, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)
2.  Where I Ought To Be (written by Harlan Howard, lead vocals by Fiona Apple and Sara Watkins) 
3.  Not In Nottingham (written by Roger Miller, lead vocals by Sean Watkins) 
4.  Steal Your Heart Away (written by Lindsey Buckingham, lead vocals by Sara Watkins) 
5.  Prescription for the Blues (written by Saunders Montgomery, lead vocals by Benmont Tench)
6.  Going Going Gone (written by Bob Dylan, lead vocals by Sean Watkins)
7.  Hop High (traditional, arranged by Watkins Family Hour, lead vocals by Sara Watkins) 
8.  She Thinks I Still Care (written by Dickey Lee Lipscomb, lead vocals by Sebastian Steinberg)
9.  The King of the 12 Oz. Bottles (written by Lee Ving, lead vocals by Don Heffington) 
10. Early Morning Rain (written by Gordon Lightfoot, lead vocals by Sara Watkins) 
11. Brokedown Palace (written by Robert C. Hunter and Jerry Garcia, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.