FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > We're Gonna Change The World - The 60's Chicago Garage Sound of Quill Records (180g Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

We're Gonna Change The World - The 60's Chicago Garage Sound of Quill Records

(180g Vinyl LP)

$5.00 - 20%
23Reward Points
Product Not Eligible for Further Discounts
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDW30912

We're Gonna Change The World!: The 60's Chicago Garage Sound Of Quill Records - Various Artists on 180g LP

During the peak years of the '60s garage band wave, Pete Wright was one of the nation's top independent record promotion men. His records were not only hits on Chicago's crucially important WLS but also in small markets throughout the Midwest. Whether in the Windy City or in these smaller outposts, he was tipped off to tons of untapped local talent. So much so that launching a record label was the next logical step. Thus was born Quill Records, a short-lived but supremely cool label heavily indebted to the garage band sound.

This definitive overview collects only the most rockin' sides from the label; from the Malibu's who manage to outdo their idols the Animals, at least in pure unbridled energy, to the Skunks who on their overdriven, fuzzed-out cover of "Do the Duck" could be mistaken for a UK mod/freakbeat act. And that's just for starters in a set of teen rave-ups from the likes of the Delights, the Commons, Ltd., Chances R, the Riddles, and more.

If the appearance of the Don Caron Orchestra in the track listing causes serious head scratching among the more discerning of you garage connoisseurs, well, Sundazed just couldn't help themselves. Their "Hot Pastrami" may be the most scorching sax 'n' reverb instrumental you hear all year. This set also includes rare photos, label scans and extensive liner notes (with interviews from both Pete Wright and many of the bands).

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

1. I'm Cryin' - The Malibu's
2. Do The Duck - The Skunks
3. Yes I Know - The Prophets
4. I'll Have You Cryin' - Chances R
5. Declaration Of Independence '65 - The Exterminators
6. Losing You - The Ricochettes
7. Just Out Of Reach - The Delights
8. Hot Pastrami - Don Caron Orchestra
9. A Heart Is Made Of Many Things - Jimmy Watson & The Original Royals
10. It's One Thing To Say - The Riddles
11. Without You - The Night Flight
12. La-Do-Da-Da - Ronnie Rice & The Gents
13. To Color Turn - The Night Flight
14. I'm Going To Change The World - The Commons, LTD.
15. Every Minute, Every Hour, Every Moment - The Delights
16. Don't Ask Why - The Skunks

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.