FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > West Side Story - Original Broadway Cast Recording (180g Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

West Side Story - Original Broadway Cast Recording

(180g Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (3)
Item: LDW68018

West Side Story (Original Broadway Cast Recording) on 180g 2LP

1957 Stereo Recording Recording on 180g Double Vinyl for the First Time!

Cut from the Original 3-Track Tapes by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound / Pressed & Plated at RTI

Much has been written about West Side Story, which began as a transmogrification of Romeo and Juliet as a feud between the Jews and Gentiles living on the East side in modern-day New York, only to morph into a confrontation between two street gangs, one American the other Puerto Rican, on the upper West side of the city.

Initially, Leonard Bernstein, its composer, was to have written both music and lyrics, but Stephen Sondheim was eventually brought in to handle the latter. With Arthur Laurents contributing the book, and Jerome Robbins devising the staging, the show opened to great acclaim on September 26, 1957 at the Winter Garden, where it played 732 performances, and was subsequently revived several times on Broadway and around the country.

But it was the film version, made three years later with Natalie Wood as Maria, that ensured its popularity worldwide. Though there are many recorded versions of the percussive score available, the original cast album, with its fresh, spontaneous performances, remains the standard by which all others are measured.

• Legendary 1957 stereo recording spread across 180g 2LPs for the first time
• Produced by Goddard Lieberson and recorded by Fred Plaut and Edward T. Graham at Columbia 30th Street Studio
• Cut from the original 3-track tapes by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound
• Pressed and plated at RTI
• Stoughton old style tip-on gatefold jacket includes rare photos from the original recording sessions

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

1. Prologue - West Side Story Ensemble
2. Jet Song - Mickey Calin
3. Something's Coming - Larry Kert
4. The Dance At the Gym -West Side Story Ensemble
5. Maria - Larry Kert
6. Tonight - Larry Kert, Carol Lawrence
7. America - Chita Rivera, Marilyn Cooper
8. Cool - Mickey Calin
9. One Hand, One Heart - Larry Kert, Carol Lawrence

1. Tonight (Quintet & Chorus) - Chita Rivera, Larry Kert, Carol Lawrence, Mickey Calin, Ken Le Roy
2. The Rumble - West Side Story Ensemble
3. I Feel Pretty - Carol Lawrence, Marilyn Cooper, Elizabeth Taylor, Carmen Gutierrez
4. Somewhere (ballet) - Larry Kert, Reri Grist, Carol Lawrence
5. Gee, Officer Krupke - Grover Dale, Eddie Roll, Hank Brunjes, David Winters, Tony Mordente
6. A Boy Like That / I Have A Love - Chita Rivera, Carol Lawrence
7. Finale - Larry Kert, Carol Lawrence

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.