FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > White Noise - An Electric Storm (Import Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

White Noise - An Electric Storm

(Import Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LIW1251

White Noise An Electric Storm on Import LP

Originally issued in 1969 on Island Records, An Electric Storm is the ambitious debut album from electronic music group White Noise. Cited as an influence by Aphex Twin and Chemical Brothers, An Electric Storm was the work of American-born David Vorhaus, Delia Derbyshire (who had created the electronic version of the Doctor Who theme for the BBC) and Brian Hodgson. 

1969 was a year which saw the world of popular music blossom. Musical freedom was the watchword and experimentation was welcomed by an ever increasing underground audience who were eager to feed their heads with ambitious albums by acts who embraced the worlds of rock and the avant garde. It was also a year in which independent record labels began to make their commercial mark in Britain. Of these companies, Island was undoubtedly the biggest player. 

Of all the albums released that year by Island, White Noise's An Electric Storm was by far the most experimental and ground breaking. The album was equally surprising in that two of the three members of White Noise were not long haired rock musicians, but were respected pioneers of electronic music who worked at the BBC's legendary Radiophonic Workshop. Initial recording work was undertaken by Vorhaus, Derbyshire and Hodgson at the BBC Radiophonic Workshop in Maida Vale during the night after staff had gone home. 

"It was all very unofficial and the BBC was unaware of us using the studio and equipment for our own ends," recalls Vorhaus. "However, it's common knowledge now that the first couple of tracks recorded by White Noise were actually recorded at the BBC, so I think it's safe to come clean!"

White Noise An Electric Storm Track Listing:

1.  Love Without Sound
2.  My Game Of Loving
3.  Here Come The Fleas
4.  Firebird
5.  Your Hidden Dreams
6.  The Visitation
7.  The Black Mass: An Electric Storm In Hell
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Love Without Sound
2. My Game Of Loving
3. Here Come The Fleas
4. Firebird
5. Your Hidden Dreams
6. The Visitation
7. The Black Mass: An Electric Storm In Hell

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.