FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Wilko Johnson And Roger Daltrey - Going Back Home (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Wilko Johnson And Roger Daltrey Going Back Home

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDD0178

Wilko Johnson And Roger Daltrey Going Back Home on Limited Edition LP + Download

Wilko Johnson, legendary guitarist with Canvey Island pub rock pioneers Dr Feelgood and Roger Daltrey, lead singer of rock giants The Who will release a joint album in March 2014 on the world famous Chess label which has been resurrected especially for the purpose. The album features at total of eleven tracks, ten of which are Wilko originals from both his Dr Feelgood days and solo years while one track is a cover version of Bob Dylan’s Highway 61 Revisited classic “Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window.”

The album’s roots began in 2010 when Roger and Wilko found themselves sitting together at an awards ceremony talking about raucous old school British rhythm & blues. “It turned out we both loved Johnny Kidd & The Pirates,” says Roger, name-checking the turn-of-‘60s creators of "Shakin’ All Over" and "Please Don’t Touch." “They’d been a big influence on both our bands. That heavy power trio sound, backing up a singer; it’s a British institution. No-one does that better than us.”

They decided on the spot it would be a great idea to collaborate together on an album but both being busy men, the idea drifted away. Then in January 2013 Wilko was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer and told he had just months to live. The guitarist - riding high after Julien Temple’s acclaimed Dr Feelgood documentary Oil City Confidential - seized upon the opportunity to make the most of his time left.

When The Who finished a sold-out world tour Daltrey was delighted to discover that, mercifully, Wilko was still well enough to fulfill their ambition of making an album together. “Roger jumped up and said, ‘Let’s do it,’” says Johnson. “He knew this lovely little studio called Yellow Fish in Uckfield. Unfortunate name for a place, but a great studio.”
The album was recorded last November in a week, using Wilko’s crack touring band of Blockheads bassist Norman Watt-Roy and drummer Dylan Howe, with ex-Style Council and Dexy’s keyboardist Mick Talbot also guesting. Wilko credits the producer, Dave Eringa, with pulling it all together in such a short time. “Everyone got on famously,” says Johnson, “it was a great atmosphere.”

Going Back Home mostly features re-makes of vintage Wilko gems, including the Feelgoods’ “All Through The City”, “Keep It Out Of Sight” and “Going Back Home” – the latter co-written in 1975 with Johnny Kidd & The Pirates’ guitarist Mick Green – plus “Everybody’s Carrying A Gun,” originally recorded by his post-Feelgoods group The Solid Senders, and the solo ‘80s rockers “Ice On The Motorway” and “I’m Going To Keep It To Myself.” There is also a hidden gem, the heart-wrenching ballad "Turned 21," which has never been properly released or performed live.

For Wilko, who has faced down his cancer with admirable good humor and steely courage, Going Back Home represents a dream fulfilled at the end of his life. “I’ve had a brilliant year,” he says. “I was meant to die in October and now I’ve recorded this with Roger. I can’t keep gushing, but I saw The Who in 1969 when I was at university. He’s a star to me.” “I’m very proud of this album,” adds Daltrey who is donating his royalties from the album to a Teen Cancer charity “So much music today is over polished. This record has a freshness that can only come from the pressures we’re under.”

Wilko And Roger Daltrey Going Back Home Track Listing:

1.  All Through The City
2.  Sneaking Suspicion
3.  Going Back Home
4.  Everybody’s Carrying A Gun
5.  Keep It Out Of Sight
6.  Keep On Loving You
7.  Some Kind Of Hero
8.  Turned 21
9.  I Keep It To Myself
10. Ice On The Motorway
11. Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. All Through The City
2. Sneaking Suspicion
3. Going Back Home
4. Everybody’s Carrying A Gun
5. Keep It Out Of Sight
6. Keep On Loving You
7. Some Kind Of Hero
8. Turned 21
9. I Keep It To Myself
10. Ice On The Motorway
11. Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.