FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
There are more items in your cart than displayed above. Click 'View Cart' to see the complete cart.
Music > Vinyl > Winfield Parker - Mr. Clean: Winfield Parker at Ru-Jac (Colored Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Winfield Parker - Mr. Clean: Winfield Parker at Ru-Jac

(Colored Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDP14682

First Ever Collection of Parker's Classic Singles, Now on Vinyl!

Colored Copies Are Limited / Call To Confirm Colored Copies Are Still Available

Ru-Jac Records, one of the nation's first African-American owned record labels, was formed in Baltimore in the early 1960s by Rufus Mitchell, who booked East coast entertainment venues including Carr's Beach, a segregated summer resort near Annapolis. Ru-Jac was active through the beginning of the 1970s and featured R&B, jazz and even rock acts.

One of the most soulful was Winfield Parker. Parker cut 17 sides for Ru-Jac, the 45s on which those tracks are found have fetched top dollar on the collectors market, as people have hungered for this vintage, classic sound. When Omnivore Recordings acquired Ru-Jac in 2015, even more recordings were discovered, and those original singles, along with 6 previously unissued tracks (on download), are finally available as Mr. Clean: Winfield Parker At Ru-Jac.

From "My Love," to "I Love You Just The Same" to the collection's title track – Mr. Clean presents Parker at his most soulful, along with alternate takes, demos, backing tracks and songs unheard since they were first laid down to tape over five decades ago. With mastering and restoration from Grammy-winner Michael Graves, they also sound better than ever.

In 2013, The Global Entertainment Media Association honored Winfield with a Golden Mic Honor, alongside contemporaries like Gamble & Huff, The Three Degrees, Barbara Mason, and more. He is celebrating 58 years in the music business in 2016, and it's the material on Mr. Clean: Winfield Parker At Ru-Jac that shows the root of that legendary career, and paves the way for a new generation of appreciation, re-examination, and soul.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

1. My Love For You - Little Winfield Parker
2. One of These Mornings - Little Winfi eld Parker
3. When I'm Alone
4. Rockin' in the Barnyard
5. I Love You Just The Same (Version 1) - Winfield Parker with The Shyndells Band
6. My Love - Winfield Parker with The Shyndells Band
7. Go Away Playgirl
8. Wondering
9. Sweet Little Girl - Winfield Parker with The Shyndells Band
10. What Do You Say? - Winfield Parker with The Shyndells Band
11. She's So Pretty
12. Oh My Love
13. I Love You Just the Same (Version 2)
14. A Fallen Star
15. Mr. Clean (Part 1)
16. Mr. Clean (Part 2)
17. Funkey Party

Previously Unissued Download Bonus Content
18. Nothin' (Take 4)
19. Go Away Playgirl (Stereo)
20. Go Away Playgirl (Stereo Backing Track)
21. My Love For You (Alternate Take)
22. My Love For You (Alternate Take 1)
23. My Love (Demo) - Wesley Aydelett

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio
MD 2020 Catalog


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More