FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Witch - Witch (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Witch - Witch

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDW06512

Witch Witch on LP

The group Witch was born from a marriage of apparently contradictory influences. J Mascis of Dinosaur Jr. renown and his long time friend Dave Sweetapple were interested in forming a hard rock band. They found willing and able conspirators in Kyle Thomas and Asa Irons, members of the New England avant-folk outfit Feathers. 

On their 2006 eponymous debut album for Tee Pee Records - recorded with John Agnello - this stellar line-up mounts a mighty sonic tumult that harkens back to the classic heavy metal sound of early 70's outfits while still sounding modern in it's assault (and without falling into the ubiquitous "Stoner Rock" pigeonhole).

In Witch, Mascis returns to his first love, drums, playing with an unbridled passion that recalls his work with Deep Wound, his early 80's hardcore band. Meanwhile, Thomas sings and writes the group's supernatural-oriented lyrics, exploring the juxtapositions between age and youth, the paradox of meeting yourself, and the dilemma of falling asleep on a mountaintop and waking up a hundred years year. 

Irons weaves a dense texture of rhythm and lead guitar lines that ebb and flow over the basic monolithic, trundling riff-rock song structure. Sweetapple adds additional weight to Witch's sound with massive, crunching bass lines, returning to his instrument of choice when he played in Newfoundland punk bands back in the early-80s. 

Witch Witch Track Listing:

1.  Seer
2.  Soul Of Fire
3.  Black Saint
4.  Changing
5.  Rip Van Winkle
6.  Hand Of Glory
7.  Isadora
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Seer
2. Soul Of Fire
3. Black Saint
4. Changing
5. Rip Van Winkle
6. Hand Of Glory
7. Isadora

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.