FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Wu-Tang Clan - A Better Tomorrow (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Wu Tang Clan - A Better Tomorrow

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (3)
Item: LDW32345

Wu-Tang Clan A Better Tomorrow on 2LP + Download

20th Anniversary Album & First in 7 Years!

Emerging in 1993, when Dr. Dre’s G-funk had overtaken the hip-hop world, the Staten Island, NY-based Wu-Tang Clan proved to be the most revolutionary rap group of the mid-90s – and only partially because of their music. Turning the standard concept of a hip-hop crew inside out, the Wu-Tang Clan were assembled as a loose congregation of nine MCs, almost as a support group. Instead of releasing one album after another, the Clan was designed to overtake the record industry in as profitable a fashion as possible – the idea was to establish the Wu-Tang as a force with their debut album and then spin off into as many side projects as possible. 

Surprisingly, the plan worked. All of the various Wu-Tang solo projects elaborated on the theme the group laid out on their 1993 debut, the spare, menacing Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers). Taking their group name from an powerful, mythical kung fu sword wielded by an invincible congregation of warriors, the crew is a loose collective of nine MCs. All nine members work under a number of pseudonyms, but they are best known as RZA , GZA/Genius, Ol' Dirty Bastard (RIP), Method Man, Raekwon the Chef, Ghostface Killah, U-God, Inspectah Deck, Masta Killa and Cappadonna.

The vision of the Wu-Tang Clan is undoubtedly due to the musical skills of RZA. Under his direction, the group - through its own efforts and the solo projects, all of which he produced or co-produced - created a hazy, surreal, and menacing soundscape out of hardcore beats, eerie piano riffs, and minimal samples. Over these surrealistic backing tracks, the MCs rapped hard, updating the old-school attack with vicious violence, martial arts imagery, and a welcome warped humor. The collective has issued five acclaimed full-length albums including Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers) (1993), Wu-Tang Forever (1997), The W (2000), Iron Flag (2001) and 8 Diagrams (2007).

Warner Bros. Records has signed a global recording contract with the legendary group which now includes RZA, GZA, Method Man, Raekwon, Ghostface Killah, Inspectah Deck, U-God, Masta Killa, and Cappadonna. As a group, Wu-Tang has sold over 6.5 million records in the US, while they’ve sold nearly 40 million records worldwide, including individual members' album sales as well as group sales collectively. The group’s first release on the label will be the highly-anticipated 20th anniversary album, A Better Tomorrow, which serves as Wu-Tang Clan's first release in 7 years.

RZA on the album to Billboard: "It's a record to me that merges the way music was made in the classic essence, in an analog way. As well as merging what's going down the digital way. All the entire 10 Clan members are on it. All the [living] members, which is a beautiful thing. And the album has a small concept in a sense, musically it travels from a guy who is going through difficulties, tries to find himself, gets involved with some violence, some troubles, but then realizes that it's best sometimes to walk away from the past and all the bad times and maybe work on making his life better, and making a better tomorrow."

Wu-Tang Clan A Better Tomorrow Track Listing:

1.  Ruckus In B Minor
2.  Felt
3.  40th Street Black / We Will Fight
4.  Mistaken Identity
5.  Hold The Heater
6.  Crushed Egos
7.  Keep Watch
8.  Miracle
9.  Preacher's Daughter
10. Pioneer The Frontier

1.  Necklace
2.  Ron O'Neal
3.  A Better Tomorrow
4.  Never Let Go
5.  Wu-Tang Reunion
6.  Ruckus In B Minor (Instrumental)
7.  Mistaken Identity (Instrumental)
8.  Miracle (Instrumental)
9.  Ron O'Neal (Instrumental)
10. Never Let Go (Instrumental)
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Ruckus In B Minor
2. Felt
3. 40th Street Black / We Will Fight
4. Mistaken Identity
5. Hold The Heater
6. Crushed Egos
7. Keep Watch
8. Miracle
9. Preacher's Daughter
10. Pioneer The Frontier

1. Necklace
2. Ron O'Neal
3. A Better Tomorrow
4. Never Let Go
5. Wu-Tang Reunion
6. Ruckus In B Minor (Instrumental)
7. Mistaken Identity (Instrumental)
8. Miracle (Instrumental)
9. Ron O'Neal (Instrumental)
10. Never Let Go (Instrumental)

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.