FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Youth Lagoon - Wondrous Bughouse (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Youth Lagoon - Wondrous Bughouse

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDY9310
Youth Lagoon Wondrous Bughouse on 2LP

Trevor Powers, whose stage name is Youth Lagoon, began writing his debut album The Year of Hibernation in 2010. Based around the idea of psychological dysphoria, Powers tried to document the trails of his mind through songs of minimalism and hypnotic ambiance.  

Powers later described his writing process as "my mind communicating with me, not the other way around...it can take me to scary places but I've realized those bizarre thoughts I have don't define me." After signing with Mississippi-based label Fat Possum Records in 2011, he toured much of the following year before going back into solitude to write.

Wondrous Bughouse, Powers' sophomore album, was spawned from what he describes as "becoming more fascinated with the human psyche and where the spiritual meets the physical world." During the time he wrote, Powers became intrigued with the metaphysical universe and blending those ideas with pop music.

"Youth Lagoon is something so personal to me because writing music is how I sort my thoughts, as well as where I transfer my fears," explains Powers. "My mental state is usually pretty sporadic... a lot of this record was influenced by a fear of mortality but embracing it at the same time.  Realizing that human life is only great because it is temporary. Experimenting with ideas about dimensions. I'm not a gifted spear, so explaining things is difficult for me. But music always makes sense."

Youth Lagoon Wondrous Bughouse Track Listing:

1.  Through Mind and Back
2.  Mute
3.  Attic Doctor
4.  The Bath
5.  Pelican Man

1.  Dropla
2.  Sleep Paralysis
3.  Third Dystopia
4.  Raspberry Cane
5.  Daisyphobia
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Through Mind and Back
2. Mute
3. Attic Doctor
4. The Bath
5. Pelican Man

1. Dropla
2. Sleep Paralysis
3. Third Dystopia
4. Raspberry Cane
5. Daisyphobia

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2018. All Rights Reserved.