FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > ZS - Grain (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

ZS Grain

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDZ9166
Zs Grain EP on 12" Vinyl

Zs is a band and a genre who played their first show in 2002. There have been 10 distinct line-ups over the band's ten years of operation. The only consistent member throughout all ten line-ups is saxophonist/composer Sam Hillmer. Other prominent members include Alex Mincek, Charlie Looker, Ian Antonio, Ben Greenberg, Patrick Higgins and Greg Fox.

The new Zs lineup (Sam Hillmer, Greg Fox and Patrick Higgins) sounds very much like a new band, at least as evidenced by the Grain EP. The two side-length tracks (coming in at a total of 42-minutes) bear the marks of Zs’ sound – repeated phrases, looped or played in situ; buried drones and harsh electronic tones – but it does sound very much like a new band.

There’s an extended ambience to the album that trick perceptions of time. Glitches and waves that last only a minute or three somehow feel as if they’ve gone on throughout the whole record. Something very mysterious goes on within the grooves. Hillmer and Higgins (who also arranges Bach for guitar and has composed for the Mivos string quartet) teamed up to create "Part One" of Grain while Greg Fox (Man Forever, Guardian Alien) built "Part Two." The album was beautifully mastered by Heba Kadry of the Lodge.

Zs Grain EP Track Listing:

1.  Part One
2.  Part Two

Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Part One
2. Part Two

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.