FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
There are more items in your cart than displayed above. Click 'View Cart' to see the complete cart.
Music > Vinyl > Buzzcocks - A Different Kind of Tension (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Buzzcocks - A Different Kind of Tension

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (2)
Item: LDB12812

Buzzcocks' Seminal Third Album Restored and Remastered from its Original ¼ Tapes for the First Time Since 1979 Release!

Famously taking their name from ‘It's the buzz, cock', a headline from a Time Out review of 1970s TV music drama Rock Follies, Buzzcocks formed in Bolton in 1976 by Pete Shelley and Howard Devoto, who have a strong claim to have kick-started a musical revolution in Manchester having organized and played at the now famous Sex Pistols show at Manchester's Lesser Free Trade Hall in 1976, a show which inspired and spawned the likes of Joy Division, The Fall and The Smiths.

As part of their continuing reissue campaign, Domino is offering up new vinyl LP pressings of the latest pair of Buzzcocks albums, A Different Kind Of Tension and Singles Going Steady, both originally released in 1979. A Different Kind Of Tension, Buzzcocks' third studio album, and their last to feature the line-up of Shelley (vocals/guitar), Steve Diggle (guitar/vocals), Steve Garvey (bass) and John Maher (drums), was recorded at Eden Studio in West London in the summer of 1979 with producer Martin Rushent, who had worked on their previous two efforts. It was released in September of that same year, and featured a distinctive cover by Malcolm Garrett who had also provided the artwork for both Another Music In A Different Kitchen and Love Bites.

As previously, both albums have been lovingly restored and re-mastered from the original ¼" tapes for the first time and come packaged with lavish 8-page booklets containing unseen images and extensive liner notes by famed cultural commentators Jon Savage (A Different Kind Of Tension) and Clinton Heylin (Singles Going Steady).

• Vinyl LP reissue
• Restored and re-mastered from its original ¼ tapes for the first time since its 1979 release
• Newly curated booklet featuring an essay from cultural commentator Jon Savage & previously unseen images
• Packaged in its original Malcolm Garrett designed sleeve

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Paradise
  2. Sitting 'round At Home
  3. You Say You Don't Love Me
  4. You Know You Can't Help It
  5. Mad, Mad Judy
  6. Raison D'Etre
  7. I Don't Know What To Do With My Life
  8. Money
  9. Hollow Inside
  10. A Different Kind Of Tension
  11. I Believe
  12. Radio Nine

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio
MD 2020 Catalog


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More