Patricia Barber - Cafe Blue (Gold CD)

Price $32.99
This product is not eligible for further discounts.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
Patricia Barber - Cafe Blue (Gold CD)

Patricia Barber - Cafe Blue (Gold CD)

Price $32.99
This product is not eligible for further discounts.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Customers Also Viewed

24 Karat Gold CD Newly Remastered from the Original Analog Tapes by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio!

For their first all-new 24K Gold CD releases in eight years, Impex Records worked with jazz icon Patricia Barber and Premonition Records to bring you three classics from her catalog: Café Blue, Companion, and Nightclub. Each has been newly remastered from the original analog tapes (Café Blue by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio, Companion and Nightclub by Bernie Grundman at Bernie Grundman Mastering). They feature deluxe book-style packaging with booklets that pay homage to the original CDs while updating them to Impex Records' look and feel. The Impex 24K Gold CD Patricia Barber Series is manufactured at Memory-Tech's state-of-the-art facility in Japan.

Patricia Barber's outstanding 1994 release Café Blue has won more than 15 awards from major international music institutions. Deemed an "underground classic" by jazz Bible Downbeat magazine, the album contains sparkling, indelible improvisations derived as much from Barber's interest in classical music as from jazz. This is where the internationally renowned singer-pianist truly came into her own, interpreting songs from outside the traditional jazz repertoire and debuting a handful of original compositions that revealed her innovative, thoroughly distinctive style.

From Barber's steamy, smoky vocals and crisp finger snaps to Michael Arnapol's acoustic upright bass and guitarist John McLean's tasteful fills, everything is in the right place here. On "Nardis," Barber and her trio transform the song until it becomes a piece that's both sensitive and wildly exotic. Barber's own "What A Shame" and the self-effacing "Too Rich For My Blood" delve into deep emotional waters, the arrangements sophisticated, cool, elegant, and provocative.

Patricia Barber, piano & vocals
John McLean, guitars
Michael Arnopol, bass
Mark Walker, drums & percussion

• Impex Records' 24K Gold CD Patricia Barber Series 
• Newly remastered from Premonition Records' original analog master tapes by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
• Disc manufactured by industry-leading Memory-Tech in Japan using heavy 24KGold substrate that evenly reflects laser light for greater playback precision
• Deluxe hardcover book package with modified original artwork & new booklet Read More
  1. What A Shame
  2. Mourning Grace
  3. The Thrill Is Gone
  4. Romanesque
  5. Yellow Car III
  6. Inch Worm
  7. Ode To Billy Joe
  8. Too Rich For My Blood
  9. A Taste Of Honey
  10. Nardis
  11. Wood Is A Pleasant Thing To Think About
  12. Manha De Carnaval
Customers Also Bought