Bill Frisell - Valentine (Vinyl 2LP)

Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
California customers: Please click here for
your Proposition 65 warning.
Bill Frisell - Valentine (Vinyl 2LP)

Bill Frisell - Valentine (Vinyl 2LP)


Debut Recording of Guitarist Bill Frisell's Trio with Bassist Thomas Morgan and Drummer Rudy Royston is a Wide-Ranging 13-Song Set Mixing Originals, Jazz Standards, Traditionals and Covers!

Acclaimed guitarist Bill Frisell releases the debut recording of his trio with bassist Thomas Morgan and drummer Rudy Royston entitled Valentine. Produced by his longtime collaborator Lee Townsend and recorded by Tucker Martine at Flora Recording in Portland, Oregon, Valentine is a wide-ranging 13-song set that mixes Frisell originals new and old, jazz standards, traditional songs, and covers. The album explores the creative freedom of the trio format and the profound relationship that exists between these three musicians after years of touring.

"This album is all about Rudy and Thomas and the musical relationship I have with them," says Frisell. "We've played a lot for a number of years, but there was no evidence of it, so I really wanted to have a document of it, if only to show that it's real and not this magical thing that I've imagined in my fantasies." In the album's liner notes, author David Hajdu writes that Valentine "is not only a gem-cut specimen of the trio art, but a vivid demonstration of the capacity of masters like Frisell, in the manner of Ellington, to push themselves, their collaborators, and their audiences to unexpected heights through the ever-restless force of their creativity."

Townsend, who has produced the great majority of Frisell's albums over the past 30 years, observes that "All three of these musicians have a deep sense of structure along with their exploratory approach to making music, so they can elaborate but never move too far away from what they need to do to serve the song. This trio is a sterling example of balancing that architectural sensibility with the spirit of spontaneity at the same time."

"There's the physical mathematics of a trio. There is so much strength in it – it can lean to one side, but it will still stay up," Frisell explains. "The music is about everyone trusting each other to the point where everybody's in the state of mind where you don't know what's going to happen next, and you feel safe enough to try anything. It's like when you're dreaming and you're on the edge of a cliff, and you know on a certain level that it's a dream, so you can just jump off. With this music, we could do that. All three of us could take big chances, and we'd always be rescued. It's about the trust that makes risks possible."

The album's closing track "We Shall Overcome" is a Civil Rights anthem that Frisell holds dear as a message of hope in all dark times. "I've been playing the song for years, and I'm going to keep playing it till there is no need anymore," says Frisell. "I can't help but hope that day will come."

Bill Frisell, guitar
Thomas Morgan, bass
Rudy Royston, drums

  1. Baba Drame
  2. Hour Glass
  3. Valentine
  4. Levees
  5. Winter Always Turns To Spring
  6. Keep Your Eyes Open
  7. A Flower Is A Lovesome Thing
  8. Electricity
  9. Wagon Wheels
  10. Aunt Mary
  11. What The World Needs Now Is Love
  12. Where Do We Go?
  13. We Shall Overcome
Related Videos
Attention To Detail: Creating an Audiophile Masterpiece With Blue Note Records’ Joe Harley
How We Pack Your Records At Music Direct