Elton John - Honky Chateau: 50th Anniversary (Vinyl 2LP) * * *

Availability: In Stock
This item is in stock and ready to ship. Depending on the time of day when you place your order, it will ship same day or next business day.
California customers: Please click here for
your Proposition 65 warning.
Elton John - Honky Chateau: 50th Anniversary (Vinyl 2LP) * * *

Elton John - Honky Chateau: 50th Anniversary (Vinyl 2LP) * * *


50th Anniversary Vinyl 2LP with Original Album and Newly Created Selection of Outtakes from the Session Tapes Plus 8-Page Booklet

In 1972, Elton John did something that he'd never done before in America – and it was something he hadn't done in his own country yet either. On the US album chart for the week of July 15, Elton's Honky Chateau toppled the Rolling Stones' Exile On Main St from the summit, giving the British singer-songwriter his first No. 1 on either side of the Atlantic. It stayed on top for five weeks and on the chart for 61.

Elton had devoted a great deal of time to breaking America, and this was the period that would really see him assume superstar status. He'd already had three Top 10 albums in the US and been acclaimed as one of the most original writers of his generation for albums like Tumbleweed Connection and Madman Across The Water, but Honky Chateau, named after the now-famous Château d'Hérouville near Paris, where it was recorded, raised his game to new levels. Elton and his band loved the creative atmosphere so much, they stayed there for three albums.

The first single from the album, "Rocket Man," had been climbing the Hot 100 since early May, and peaked at No. 6 in the very week the parent album landed at the top. "Honky Cat" would follow it into the Top 10 in September. Elton's British audience were still being a little slower on the uptake. They took Honky Chateau to No. 2 and the "Rocket Man" single to the same position, but "Honky Cat" could only reach No. 31. It wasn't until 1973's Don't Shoot Me I'm Only The Piano Player began a run of four consecutive UK No. 1 albums that Elton's British preeminence became truly unstoppable.

Produced by Gus Dudgeon with Elton's faithful band of Davey Johnstone, Dee Murray and Nigel Olsson, plus of course with Bernie Taupin also in residence at the Chateau as in-house lyricist, Honky Chateau remains a delightful listen. Tracks like "Honky Cat" and "Hercules" lay bare Elton's southern rock influences, with a particular nod to Dr. John, and "Mona Lisas and Mad Hatters" remains one of his most charming early ballads.

This 50th anniversary vinyl 2LP edition contains the original album and a newly created selection of outtakes from the original session tapes. Also included is an eight-page booklet containing rare photos, memorabilia and an essay featuring interviews from those who were there at the time.

  • 50th Anniversary vinyl 2LP
  • Original album
  • Newly created selection of outtakes from the original session tapes
  • 8-page booklet with rare photos, memorabilia & essay 
Read More
  1. Honky Cat
  2. Mellow
  3. I Think I'm Going To Kill Myself
  4. Susie (Dramas)
  5. Rocket Man (I Think It's Going To Be A Long, Long Time)
  6. Salvation
  7. Slave
  8. Amy
  9. Mona Lisas And Mad Hatters
  10. Hercules
  1. Salvation [Session Demo]
  2. Susie (Dramas) [Session Demo]
  3. Rocket Man (I Think It's Going To Be A Long Long Time) [Session Demo]
  4. Mellow [Session Demo]
  5. Slave [Alternate "Fast" Version / Session Demo]
  6. Honky Cat [Session Demo]
  7. I Think I'm Going To Kill Myself [Session Demo]
  8. Hercules [Session Demo]
  9. Slave [Session Demo]
Related Videos
How We Pack Your Records At Music Direct